• Eagles land four champions to win EP Invite

  • EAGLE POINT — Eagle Point crowned four champions and advanced six wrestlers into the championship finals to help secure the team title at its own 14-team Eagle Point Invitational.

    • email print
  • EAGLE POINT — Eagle Point crowned four champions and advanced six wrestlers into the championship finals to help secure the team title at its own 14-team Eagle Point Invitational.
    Orlando De La Cruz (113 pounds), Travis Woods (145), Trevor Olsen (195) and Manny Valdovinos (285) each won titles for the Eagles, while Aaron Lorenz (120) and Caleb Ash (160) placed second.
    "We had a bunch of good individuals here and it was a good day for us," said EP head coach Kacey McNulty, whose team had placers in 11 of the 14 weight classes. "Our kids wrestled a lot more aggressively than they had been. Home tournament, home crowd ... maybe that helped out a little bit."
    The Eagles amassed 218 points to outdistance themselves from runner-up Churchill (168), while Phoenix finished fifth with 111 points, just ahead of Illinois Valley.
    Phoenix's Eleazar De Luca won a marquee matchup at 152 pounds when the two-time defending Class 4A state champion topped 5A champion Chase Kearney from Churchill 9-3 in the finals.
    "He looked real good," said Phoenix head coach John Farmer. "He was sharp on his feet and he definitely went after him and was the aggressor in making things work for him."
    Illinois Valley's Gabe Miller won the title at 138, while Rogue River had a pair of second-place finishes from Aaron Longtain (126) and Garrett Dees (182).
    Valdovinos had one of the more intriguing championship matches, winning 3-1 with a takedown coming in the final two seconds of overtime against Churchill's Will Dawson. The win avenged a recent loss to Dawson at the Oregon Classic.
    TEAM SCORES — Eagle Point 218, Churchill 168, Mazama 135.5, Bend 122.5, Phoenix 111, Illinois Valley 103.5, Klamath Union 94, Marshfield 89, Rogue River 56, South Medford 31.5, South Umpqua 31, Etna 20, Brookings-Harbor 15, North Eugene 0.
    106 — Jorrin Ishihara, Chu, major dec. Chris Bowers, SU, 18-5; 113 — Orlando De La Cruz, EP, dec. Kaleb Wineberger, Maz, 9-4; 120 — Thaddeus Nelson, Mar, dec. Aaron Lorenz, EP, 6-2; 126 — Tee Nguyen, KU, dec. Aaron Longtain, RR, 7-3; 132 — Trevor Anderson, Maz, injury default over Housten Ezell, Chu.
    138 — Gabe Miller, IV, pinned Jordan Rose, Maz, 3:52; 145 — Travis Woods, EP, major dec. Aaron Boatwright, Maz, 13-4; 152 — Eleazar De Luca, Pho, dec. Chase Kearney, Chu, 9-3; 160 — Willy Abt, Bend, pinned Caleb Ash, EP, 1:02.
    170 — Zac Brunson, Chu, pinned Gavin Gerdes, Bend, 1:03; 182 — Kenny Dailey, Bend, pinned Garrett Dees, RR, 5:52; 195 — Trevor Olsen, EP, pinned D.J. Thompson, Bend, 1:34; 220 — Trevor Derra, Maz, pinned Jacob Cox, Maz, 4:43; 285 — Manny Valdovinos, EP, dec. Will Dawson, Chu, 3-1 OT.
    106 — Richard Orndorff, Pho, dec. Eric Miller, IV; 113 — Brandon Campbell, Mar, pinned Jett Lawrence, Chu, :30; 120 — Bee Nguyen, KU, dec. Hunter Goguen, Chu, 5-4; 126 — Skyler Harvey, Mar, dec. Brandon Parker, IV, 6-5; 132 — Alek Callahan, EP, major dec. Tyler Ornelas, Bend, 10-1.
    138 — James McCoy, EP, pinned Nick Renfro, Pho, 1:42; 145 — Thane Baumer, EP, dec. Kyle Bradfield, Pho, 11-9; 152 — Hunter Hoeptner, EP, dec. Edward Martinez, EP, 11-6; 160 — Izzy Rubio, Pho, pinned Justin McCreadie, Pho, 4:44.
    170 — Gunner Crawford, Bend, pinned Alex Dibrito, KU, 3:44; 182 — Nick Gates, Chu, pinned Carlos Flannigan, KU, 5:05; 195 — Dre Golden, Bend, pinned Julian Northrup, IV, 3:21; 220 — Jevon Painter, Mar, pinned Tyler Garrard, Maz, 2:12; 285 — Josh Cox, Maz, pinned Jeremiah Meadors, Pho, 2:56.
Reader Reaction

School Directory

Sport Directory

Conference Directory

Prep Notebook

Kris Henry

Class 5A football playoff bids won't come easy

Athletic directors at the Class 5A level have proven to be the most invested in controlling their own playoff destiny since a switch to the...