WHO CAN BE GRANTED A MARRIAGE LICENSE? You do not have to be an Oregon resident to obtain a marriage license. Oregon law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Those 17 years old must have parental consent before a marriage license can be issued.
WHO CAN BE GRANTED A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
You do not have to be an Oregon resident to obtain a marriage license.
Oregon law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Those 17 years old must have parental consent before a marriage license can be issued.
WHERE DO YOU GET A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
Licenses are issued in the County Clerk's Office, 10 S. Oakdale Ave., Room 114, Medford, OR 97501. Phone: (541) 774-6153.
Application hours are 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., closed 11:15 a.m. — 12:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
HOW DO YOU OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
1. Complete Application:
Both bride and groom must apply on the public computers in our office. It takes about 20 minutes to process the license, so plan to be in our office no later than 3:30 p.m. in order to complete your application by closing.
2. Proof of Age
Applicants may be required to show proof of age to the satisfaction of the clerk.
3. Permission for those 17 years of age:
Applicants seventeen years of age must bring a parent or guardian with them, or have a notarized consent form with them. We require an original birth certificate as proof of age and proof of parentage. A form for giving consent to the marriage of a minor is available at this web address: www.co.jackson.or.us/Files/MarriageConsentFM.pdf
4. License fee:
The cost of a marriage license is $55.00, payable in cash, money order, cashier's check or with a debit/credit card *(Mastercard, American Express or Discover) when the license is issued. *A convenience fee will be charged by the service provider.
5. Three day waiver form if necessary is $17.00 payable in cash only.
EVEN THOUGH YOU WILL RECEIVE YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE ON THE DAY YOU APPLY, YOU CANNOT BE MARRIED UNTIL THREE DAYS LATER. For example, if you are issued your license on Monday, you cannot be married until Thursday. If that presents a problem, the waiting period can be waived by the County Clerk.
AFTER YOU HAVE YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE:
REMEMBER the license is not valid until three days after it is issued.
It remains valid for 60 days after the effective date. The license can be used anywhere in the state of Oregon. It must be filed back with the same county it was purchased from.
Your marriage can be officiated by:
1. A judge. (ORS 106.120) A list of judges who perform marriage ceremonies is available from the Marriage License Clerk.
2. The County Clerk (as time permits). (ORS 106.120) After applicants purchase the Marriage License they can contact the County Clerk to perform their ceremony at (541) 774-6147.
3. Religious congregation or organizations as indicated in ORS 106.120 and 106.150.
*The fee for a marriage performed by the County Clerk is $100 as of October 1, 2011. (ORS 106.120(4)(b), HB 2710- 2011 legislative session)
Two persons over age 18 are required to witness the solemnization of the marriage.
The marriage license (if not used) expires sixty days from effective date. There is no extension of time, no refunds given, no exceptions.
Oregon law requires the properly completed original license be returned to the Clerk's Office within 10 days of the marriage. If you decide not to return your license, it is the responsibility of the officiating judge, minister or clerk to do so.
Your license becomes a record of marriage once it has been returned and signed by the local official. Nothing will be mailed to you after the return of your license. If you would like a certified copy of your marriage license please come to the County Clerk's Office or visit this web address: www.co.jackson.or.us/Files/CopyOfMarriageLicenseThruMail.pdf
Jackson County Clerk
10 S. Oakdale Ave.
Medford, OR 97501.
The cost of a certified copy is $7.75 payable in cash, check, money order or debit/credit card *(Mastercard, American Express or Discover). *A convenience fee will be charged by service provider.