Jesuit makes history, wins fourth straight 6A boys title

By By Anne M. Peterson

The Associated Press
March 11, 2012

PORTLAND — Junior Khyan Rayner had 19 points and Jesuit made history by defeating Lake Oswego 52-42 in the OSAA Class 6A boys state championship game on Saturday night at the Rose Garden Arena.

The Crusaders (26-2), the tournament's top seed, won their fourth consecutive 6A state title — something that hasn't been done in any Oregon classification in boys basketball.

Xavier Coleman and Jack Hackman each added 11 points for Jesuit, which led by as many as 13 points.

"For me, personally, it's great to get this win," Rayner said. "But it's more for Jesuit, and the teams that came before us, and the Jesuit community."

Calvin Hermanson had 20 points and nine rebounds for Lake Oswego (22-6), which won its lone state title in 2006 when the Lakers were led by NBA All-Star Kevin Love.

Class 5A Girls

SPRINGFIELD 16, WILLAMETTE 7 — At Eugene, Springfield didn't need a big game from Mercedes Russell to win another state title. The Millers actually didn't need much from anyone.

Russell recorded seven points and eight rebounds and Springfield overcame Willamette's stalling offense strategy to beat the Wolverines and win its second-straight OSAA Class 5A girls basketball championship at Matthew Knight Arena.

It was the lowest scoring girls title game in OSAA history.

Willamette held the ball for six straight minutes in the first quarter and for all but six seconds of the second quarter.

Class 4A girls

HENLEY 41, SUTHERLIN 35 — At Corvallis, Henley scored the first eight points of the fourth quarter to pull away and beat Sutherlin in the OSAA Class 4A girls championship game at Gill Coliseum.

Elle Morgan had 19 points and seven rebounds and Jordin Scholer added seven points for fourth-ranked Henley (24-5), which won its third championship. The Hornets also won titles in 1980 and 1991.

Miranda Mendenhall had 10 points and four steals and Ricki Mock added four points and 11 rebounds for third-ranked Sutherlin (28-1), which was playing in its second championship game in five seasons. The Bulldogs won the 2008 title under current head coach Josh Grotting.