Big rigs featured at speedway

WHITE CITY — South Dakota's Dustin Smith outdueled Dave Barr from Centralia, Wash., in the Rolling Thunder Big Rigs featured race at the Southern Oregon Speedway Saturday night.

It was the first appearance at the speedway for the diesel-powered trucks, which flew around the clay oval several times two or three abreast. In a near photo finish, Smith nosed out Barr.

Next Saturday there will be no racing, as the track is getting new materials in preparation for the 17th annual Lon Skinner Memorial modified race Sept 1-2.

Dirt modified drivers from throughout the West will compete in the 100-lap event.

Saturday's Results

Rolling Thunder Big Rigs

A Main — 1, Dustin Smith; 2, Dave Barr; 3, Mikey Iverson; 4, Steve Smith; 5, Brian Wilson; 6, Rick Casebolt; 7, Scott Zahn; 8, Tammi Rodstrom; 9, John Nelson.


Trophy Dash — Travis Peery

Dwarf Car

A Main — 1. Kelly Gutches; 2. Josh King; 3. RJ McGahuey; 4. Fred Hay

Trophy Dash — Fred Hay

Mini Stock

A Main — 1. John Derby; 2. Bob Burkett; 3. David Steele; 4. Cameron Derby.

Mini Stock

Trophy Dash — John Derby

Street Stock

A Main — 1. Duane Orsburn; 2. Scott Flowers; 3. Scott Bennett; 4. Don Garrett.

Super 4's

Trophy Dash — Duane Orsburn

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.