Esqueda, Pirates earn Skyline acclaim

November 22, 2012

Phoenix junior defender Johnny Esqueda was named the Skyline Conference boys soccer player of the year and teammates Eli Espana (a junior forward) and Jose Alegria (a senior midfielder) earned spots on the league's first team.

The Pirates went undefeated in conference play and finished the year 13-2-1 after falling to La Salle Prep 4-0 in the Class 4A state semifinals.

North Valley senior Isaiah McLittle and Hidden Valley senior Alan Rojas were also selected to the first team.

On the girls side, Hidden Valley seniors Raychel Clark and Morgan Hansen and North Valley junior Vanessa D'Arpino were chosen to the first team.

Mazama's Kylie Durant and Tiffany Taylor were given co-player of the year honors.

Skyline Conference Boys Soccer All Stars

PLAYER OF YEAR — Johnny Esqueda, Phoenix.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Lupe Gonzales, Henley.

FIRST TEAM — Johnny Esqueda, Phoenix, Jr.; Sam Johnson, Henley, Sr.; Jacob Carpenter, Henley, Jr.; Luis Valdez, Mazama, Sr.; Omar Valadez, Mazama, Jr.; Luis Serrato, Klamath Union, Sr.; Alan Rojas, Hidden Valley, Sr.; Isaiah McLittle, North Valley, Sr.; Eli Espana, Phoenix, Jr.; Jose Alegria, Phoenix, Sr.; James Goheen, Henley, Jr.

SECOND TEAM — Josh Cowell, North Valley, Sr.; Trinidad Flores, North Valley, So.; Juan Romero, Henley, Jr.; Jaime Aguago, Henley, Jr.; Jose Meza, Klamath Union, Jr.; Ivan Franco, Klamath Union, Sr.; Omar Cisneros, Mazama, Sr.; Alex Vela, Phoenix, Jr.; Jose Mendez, Phoenix, Jr.; Jesus DeLaCruz, Phoenix, Sr.; Hector Rocha, Phoenix, Jr.

HONORABLE MENTION — Edgar Baza, Henley, Jr.; Zach Leininger, Henley, Sr.; Thomas Fate, Hidden Valley, Jr.; Ian Hernandez, Hidden Valley, Sr.; David McLittle, North Valley, Fr.; Juan Perez, Mazama, Jr.; Rafael Garcia, Mazama, Sr.; Ezequiel Flores, Phoenix, Jr.; Kenny Alaquznez, Mazama, Sr.

Skyline Conference Girls Soccer All Stars

CO-PLAYER OF YEAR — Kylie Durant, Mazama; Tiffany Taylor, Mazama.

CO-COACH OF THE YEAR — Angela Durant, Mazama; Scott Souders, Klamath Union.

FIRST TEAM — Kylie Durant, Mazama, Sr.; Tiffany Taylor, Mazama, Sr.; Raychel Clark, Hidden Valley, Sr.; Jackie Gardner, Klamath Union, Sr.; Vanessa D'Arpino, North Valley, Jr.; Hannah Reynolds, Mazama, Sr.; Kaitlyn Crowell, Mazama, Jr.; Karena Foust, Mazama, Sr.; Beckie Wise, Klamath Union, So.; Jessica Bocchi, Klamath Union, Jr.; Morgan Hansen, Hidden Valley, Sr.

SECOND TEAM — Tori Fretz, Hidden Valley, Sr.; Cedar Wilkening, Hidden Valley, Sr.; Autumn Diaz, North Valley, Sr.; Aimee Bruner, Henley, Fr.; Haylie Durant, Mazama, Fr.; Kaelyn Trader, Hidden Valley, Sr.; Shaylee Totten, Mazama, Sr.; Alyssa Byrd, Hidden Valley, Sr.; Kerissa D'Arpino, North Valley, Jr.; Amanda Skaff, Phoenix, Jr.; Emma Niskanen, Klamath Union, Jr.

HONORABLE MENTION — Tyra Jerde, Mazama, Jr.; Micaila Miguel, Hidden Valley, So.; Ashley Jacobsen, Hidden Valley, Jr.; Tori Dykstra, Klamath Union, Fr.; Bailey Pimentel, Klamath Union, So.; Kylee Souders, Klamath Union; Kasey Werner, North Valley, Jr.; Kylie McElheran, North Valley, Sr.; Natalie Delonge, Henley, So.; Makael deHoop, Henley, So.; Brittany Kochenderfer, Henley, So.; Lily Wilson, Phoenix, Jr.; Jordan Stevens, Phoenix, Jr.; Kaylee Grigsby, Mazama, Sr.