Rogue Valley YMCA honors 12 teens, four adults

The Rogue Valley YMCA honored 12 teens and four adult volunteers at a ceremony Thursday, Nov. 8, at the Bigham Knoll Campus in Jacksonville.

Madalynn Quinn was honored as the YMCA Teen of the Year because of her work volunteering as a volleyball coach. Quinn became a certified lifeguard at the YMCA and put her skills to use over the summer as a lifeguard for the City of Medford.

Nine other local teens received Character Awards from the YMCA. The award recognizes teens who demonstrate the values of caring, honesty, respect and responsibility. Winners were:

  • Hayden Matlock, South Medford High School.
  • Faith Gardiner, Eagle Point High School.
  • Leonardo Alonzo, North Medford High School.
  • Sheldon Derr, Phoenix High School.
  • Katelyn Lambert, Logos Public Charter School.
  • John Cosentino, Cascade Christian High School.
  • Hugo Villa, Central Medford High School.
  • Jake Isola, St. Mary's High School.
  • Sara Eilenberger-Davis, Crater High School.

Lauren Morgan and Neil Seibert were the 2012 Pear Blossom Run scholarship winners, both receiving $2,500 for college tuition. They were selected for running ability, academic standing, extracurricular activities, community service and recommendations of teachers and coaches.

Volunteer Virginia "Grandma Ginny" Pearl, was highlighted for youth development because of her volunteer work in the preschool program.

Volunteer Michael Kempfer was praised for youth development because of his work as a youth sports coach.

Armando Hernandez was recognized for healthy living because of his volunteer work teaching fitness classes.

Chuck Mettler was thanked for social responsibility because of his leadership with fundraising, and recently secured a $100,000 gift for facility improvements.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.