Becker, Lofstedt take home prestigious state honors

BEAVERTON — North Medford senior softball standout Maryssa Becker and Southern Oregon University wrestling star Mitchell Lofstedt were honored at the prestigious Oregon Sports Awards at the Nike World Headquarters on Sunday night.

Becker was named Prep Softball Player of the Year and Lofstedt the Ad Rutscham Small College Male Athlete of the Year.

The Louisville-bound Becker was given the Oregon Gatorade player of the year award after leading the Black Tornado to a 29-1 record and the program's sixth state championship last season.

Becker went 26-0 with a 0.43 ERA and 313 strikeouts in 178 innings.

Lofstedt, a former Roseburg standout, won his second national championship in the 125-pound bracket at the NAIA National Championships last year. He ended the season with a 39-2 record and a new program-record 26 total pins (surpassing his own record of 24 set in 2009-10).

Lofstedt was named the Outstanding Wrestler of the National Tournament and earned the Gorrian Award, given to the wrestler with the most pins in the least amount of time.

Danny Miles, a former star athlete at Medford High and Southern Oregon University, won the DNA Award for his merits as record-setting head coach of the Oregon Tech men's basketball team. The accolade recognizes individuals or organizations for their extraordinary passion and dedication to sports in Oregon.

Other winners on the night included Thomas Tyner, Haley Crouser, Oshay Dunmore, Baily Bennett, Kenjon Barner, Liz Brenner, Ashton Eaton, Megan Rapinoe, Chip Kelly and Erik Spoelstra.

Tyner (Aloha High School) and Crouser (Gresham High School) were named 6A/5A Prep Athletes of the Year, and Dunmore (Newport High School) and Bennett (Heppner High School) took home the honors for 4A-1A. The evening also awarded prep honors for each sport recognized by the Oregon School Activities Association.

Barner and Brenner were named Amateur Athletes of the Year.

Barner, a first-team Pac-12 running back for the Ducks, ran for 1,767 yards (6.4 per carry) and 21 touchdowns in 2012. Brenner was a member of four different teams at the University of Oregon in 2012, including the Ducks volleyball team for which she was a second-team All-American.

Eaton and Rapinoe took home the Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year Awards. Both athletes earned gold at the London Olympic Games: Eaton won the decathlon and Rapinoe recorded three goals and four assists to help the U.S. claim the gold medal.

Kelly and Spoelstra each took home the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year award. Kelly was honored for his season with the University of Oregon football team and Spoelstra for coaching the Miami Heat to the NBA world championship.

For a complete list of Oregon Sports Awards winners and photos, go online to

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.