The Mail Tribune's annual Two-Minute Film Festival returns for a third year.

The Mail Tribune's annual Two-Minute Film Festival returns for a third year.

Once again, readers are challenged to shoot and edit their best two-minute film and send it in, where the work will be available for viewing by the community and local industry professionals. No big, fancy budget or props are needed, just an idea, a camera and some simple editing. A panel of expert judges will select three winners, and online voters will select a people's choice winner.

The judges include Anne Ashbey, executive director of the Ashland Independent Film Festival. Ashbey has worked as a producer of short films and commercials in San Francisco and as a marketing executive for several companies, including as the vice president of Internet marketing at Harry & David and vice president of marketing for Blackstone Audio.

Also judging is Erik Palmer, an assistant professor of Convergent Media and Film at Southern Oregon University. He is the academic coordinator for the newly launched Southern Oregon Digital Media Center. Palmer primarily teaches social media, visual communication and community journalism.

A third judge is Andres Tavares, winner of last year's Two-Minute Film Festival and director of his own film company, The Original Night Hawk. Tavares has been a YouTube Partner for a year. His interest in film began his senior year in high school after he showed a video to his film class and a few friends.

Entrants will be eligible for prizes, including a membership to Southern Oregon Film and Television, a group of filmmakers and enthusiasts who are working to build the filmmaking industry in Southern Oregon. Other prizes include Cinemark and Dutch Bros. gift cards.

To enter the contest, see The deadline for entries is 5 p.m. Friday, April 19. Entries cannot exceed two minutes in length. Online users will be able to vote for their favorite films through 5 p.m. Friday, April 26.

Winners will be announced online and in the Mail Tribune in early May.