Players chosen for MT All-Star Classic

Boys, girls teams include eight players who were league MVPs

Mail Tribune
March 15, 2013

WHAT: Boys and girls all-star basketball games pitting area stars from classes 6A to 1A. Proceeds go to Kids Unlimited.

WHEN, WHERE: Saturday, March 23, Kids Unlimited, girls at 5:15 p.m., boys at 7.
  • ONLINE VOTE: Fans pick the starters. Go to
  • FACEBOOK: Like us and catch updates at "2013 Mail Tribune All-Star Basketball Classic."

Rogue Boys
Jesse Mondry South Medford
Julian Gray North Medford
Cody Dismukes Crater
Dylan Strempel Grants Pass
Gabe Stanley Ashland
Kevin Brazille North Valley
Alan Rojas Hidden Valley
David Sellers Cascade Christian
Shawn Donahue Rogue River
Boston Ehlers Prospect

Siskiyou Boys
Adrian Garcia South Medford
Tristen Holmes North Medford
Connor Lane Crater
Cesar Chavez Eagle Point
JJ Chirnside North Valley
Tyson Morris Phoenix
Alex Miller Cascade Christian
Kade Benton St. Mary's
Mack Epple Illinois Valley
Micah Neufeld Rogue Valley Adventist
Evan Givens Butte Falls

Rogue Girls
Kylie Towry South Medford
Ashley Bolston South Medford
McKensey Peters North Medford
Becca Heard Crater
Sydney May Eagle Point
Baylee Toney Phoenix
Morgan Hansen Hidden Valley
Emily Alvarez St. Mary's
Jazmine Hancock Illinois Valley
Heather Lass Prospect

Siskiyou Girls
Yaremi Mejia South Medford
Julissa Tago South Medford
Kayla Bice Grants Pass
Casie Johnson Eagle Point
Georgia Williams Ashland
Delanie Tally Phoenix
Kenzie Schmoll North Valley
Alaina Thomson Cascade Christian
Lillian Martin St. Mary's
Tamika Funk Butte Falls

The boys and girls teams have been selected for the sixth annual Mail Tribune All-Star Basketball Classic, and if the credentials of the players are an indication, another exciting evening of high school hoops is in the offing.

No fewer than eight players who have committed to play in the contests were named most valuable players in their respective leagues.

The games are March 23 at Kids Unlimited, with the girls starting at 5:15 p.m. and the boys at 7.

They bring together the top players in the region, providing an opportunity for large- and small-school players — classes 6A to 1A — who have been in the news all winter to share the floor at the same time, joining forces with and competing against one another.

And it's all for a good cause. Proceeds go to Kids Unlimited, a Medford youth development agency located at 821 N. Riverside Ave.

Admission is $8 for adults, $4 for students and kids under 12 get in free.

The teams, the Rogues and Siskiyous, are made up of 41 boys and girls from 16 high schools.

The starters will be determined by an online voting process at

Among the participating players are Southern Oregon Hybrid MVPs Ashley Bolston on the girls side and Jesse Mondry for the boys. Both are from 6A South Medford.

Eagle Point MVPs Sydney May (girls) and Cesar Chavez (boys) are in, representing 5A.

Others to garner top league honors are boys JJ Chirnside of 4A North Valley and Alex Miller of 3A Cascade Christian, and 3A girls Emily Alvarez of St. Mary's and Alaina Thomson of Cascade Christian.

South Medford's girls, who finished second in the state, are represented by four players for the second year in a row, including the past three MVPs of the game.

Bolston and Kylie Towry, who was honored as the top player in the 2010 game as a freshman, are on the Rogue team. They were on opposite sides last year.

The Panthers' Yaremi Mejia, who scored an All-Star girls record 23 points last year in earning her second straight MVP award, and teammate Julissa Tago are on the Siskiyou team.

North Medford's McKensey Peters, who was a first-team all-SOH selection and has committed to play collegiately for Oregon Tech, is on the Rogue team.

Eagle Point, Phoenix and St. Mary's, which also finished second in the state, have two players each.

On the boys side North Medford has two players (Julian Gray, Rogues; Tristen Holmes, Siskiyous), as do South Medford (Mondry, Rogues; Adrian Garcia, Siskiyous), Crater (Cody Dismukes, Rogues; Connor Lane, Siskiyous), 4A state-champion North Valley (Kevin Brazille, Rogues; Chirnside, Siskiyous) and 3A fourth-place Cascade Christian (David Sellers, Rogues; Miller, Siskiyous).

Oregon Tech women's head coach Scott Meredith, Southern Oregon University men's assistant Chris Schmerbach and Oregon Tech men's assistant Jguwon Hogges.

In last year's games, the Siskiyou boys topped the century mark, beating the Rogues 102-82. It was the most lopsided game in the series. The other four had been decided by a total of 15 points, the largest previous margin being seven points.

Eagle Point's Jonathan Bolston was the MVP, accumulating 17 points, seven assists, four rebounds and two steals.

In the girls game, Mejia scored seven of her points in the fourth quarter, leading a 71-69 victory. Her 23 points surpassed the previous record of 20, set by South Medford's Brittany Newcomb in 2009 and matched by Crater's Jen Noon a year later.

Reach sports editor Tim Trower at 541-776-4479, or email