No. 3 Oregon State takes down No. 20 Arizona

TUCSON, Ariz. — Jake Rodriguez did not get one of Oregon State's seven hits Saturday at No. 20 Arizona.

Fortunately for the Beavers, his bat still played a big role in the second game of the series.

Rodriguez hit two sacrifice flies to send the third-ranked Beavers to a 4-3 win at Hi Corbett Field.

Four Oregon State relievers combined to hold the Wildcats scoreless over the final 3 1/3 innings of the game to send the Beavers to their fourth consecutive win in Tucson.

OSU (18-1, 2-0 Pac-12) utilized a three-run sixth to claim the win. Dylan Davis drove in two runs on a double, then moved to third on a passed ball. Rodriguez lifted a fly to center to score Davis.

Max Engelbrekt, Cole Brocker, Tony Bryant and Scott Schultz combined to hold Arizona to just one hit over the final 3 1/3 innings in relief of OSU starter Andrew Moore, who became the first Pac-12 Conference pitcher to go 5-0 this season.

Engelbrekt, Brocker and Bryant all picked up holds and combined to strike out one with no walks. Schultz came on with one out in the ninth and struck out two for his third save of the season.

OREGON 8, USC 4 — At Los Angeles, Oregon scored six runs in the eighth inning to rally for the Pac-12 Conference win Dedeaux Field.

Scott Heineman led the Ducks (15-5, 2-0 Pac-12), going 3-for-6 with two RBIs and two runs. Mitchell Tolman, making just his third career start, went 2-for-2 with an RBI and a run, while J.J. Altobelli was 2-for-5.

Darrell Hunter picked up his first career win in relief of Tommy Thorpe. Hunter gave up two hits but no runs in 1 1/3 innings.

Oregon will look to sweep the three-game series when it faces Southern California at noon today.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.