• Peebles fends off Mote for bareback title

  • CENTRAL POINT — Steven Peebles of Redmond had his score of 81 hold up through the final day of action Saturday in the bareback riding event during the Wild Rogue Pro Rodeo at the Jackson County Expo.
    • email print
    • GLANCE
      RECAP: xxxxxxxx
      up next: xxxxxx
      » Read more
      RECAP: xxxxxxxx

      up next: xxxxxx
  • CENTRAL POINT — Steven Peebles of Redmond had his score of 81 hold up through the final day of action Saturday in the bareback riding event during the Wild Rogue Pro Rodeo at the Jackson County Expo.
    Culver's Bobby Mote gave Peebles a run for his money but came up just short in the points race, scoring an 80 to finish in second place.
    Pendleton's Ben Londo and Bryan Martinat of Marsing, Idaho, shared the saddle bronc riding title when each scored an 81, while Sterling Lambert of Fallon, Nev., was the steer wrestling champion with a time of 4.1 seconds.
    Sharing the title in tie down roping were Change DeForest and Jake Echevarria, who each posted a time of 9.2 seconds, while Utah's Shawn Proctor posted a solid score of 86 to win the bull riding event.
    In barrel racing, Christina Richman of Glendora, Calif., finshed fractions of seconds ahead of the field to claim her win in 13.71 seconds, while the pairing of Riley and Brady Minor of Ellensburg, Wash., secured a similarly close victory in 4.8 seconds during the team roping competition.
    Top 5 Finishers
    BAREBACK RIDING — 1, Steven Peebles, Redmond, 81, $2,023.50; 2, Bobby Mote, Culver, 80, $1,551.35; T3, Brian Bain, Culver, 78, and Nick Gutzwiler, Cheney, Wash., 78, and Austin Foss, Terrebonne, 78, $786.92.
    SADDLE BRONC RIDING — T1, Ben Londo, Pendleton, 81, and Bryan Martinat, Marsing, Idaho, 81, $1,943.51; T3, Jesse Kruse, Great Falls, Mont., 79, and Tab Hildreth, Gunnison, Colo., 79, $1,026.76; 5, Ryan MacKenzie, Homedale, Idaho, 77, $513.38.
    STEER WRESTLING — 1, Sterling Lambert, Fallon, Nev., 4.1, $1,988.35; 2, Andy Weldon, Greenleaf, Idaho, 4.3, $1,729.00; T3, Jake Rinehart, Highmore, S.D., 4.5, and Zack Juestesen, Kent, 4.5, $1,339.97.
    TIE DOWN ROPING — T1, Chang DeForest, Wheatland, Calif., 9.2, and Jake Echevarria, Nampa, Idaho, 9.2, $1,654.42; 3, J. Cody Jones, Kelseyville, Calif., 9.8, $1,308.15; 4, Mike Johnson, Henryetta, Okla., 10.2, $1,077.30; 5, Shane Erickson, Terrebonne, 10.4, $846.45.
    BULL RIDING — 1, Shawn Proctor, Tooele, Utah, 86, $2,842.40; 2, Dallee Mason, Weiser, Idaho, 81, $2,204.00; 3, Steve Woolsey, Payson, Utah, 80, $1,656.80; T4, Dylan Hice Vick, Escalon, Calif., 78, and Joe Meling, Battle Ground, Wash., 78, $927.20.
    BARREL RACING — 1, Christina Richman, Glendora, Calif., 13.71, $1,913.20; 2, Trula Churchill, Valentine, Neb., 13.79, $1,639.89; 3, Nicole Riggle, Scottsdale, Ariz., 13.82, $1,366.57; 4, Nicole Alchele, Walla Walla, Wash., 13.84, $1,184.36; 5, Jody Sheffield, Ogden, Utah, 13.85, $911.05.
    TEAM ROPING — 1, Riley Minor-Brady Minor, Ellensburg, Wash., 4.8, $2,540.06; 2, Brady Tryan-Cody Doescher, Huntley, Mont./Oklahoma City, 5.0, $2,208.75; 3, Zayne Dishion-Jade Corkill, Bishop, Calif./Fallon, Nev., 5.9, $1,877.44; 4, C.R. Wilken-Russell Cardoza, Templeton, Calif./Terrebonne, 6.5, $1,546.13; 5, Jack Fischer-Andy Carlson, Ellensburg, Wash./Hermiston, 11.0, $1,214.81.
    Auto Racing
    SOUTHERN OREGON SPEEDWAY — At White City, Mark Wauge raced to a victory in the modified A main on Saturday at the Southern Oregon Speedway.
    Wauge held off Dave Duste Jr. to secure the victory.
    Steve Goetz took the checkered flag in mini stocks, while John Barger won the A main event in super 4's and Jorddon Braaten was victorious in street stocks.
    Racing continues next Saturday with pro stocks, B modifieds, mini stocks and thrill cars.
    Saturday's Results
    Mini Stocks
    Trophy Dash — Steve Goetz.
    A-Main — Steve Goetz, Bob Burkett, Curt Ballard, Sara Bray, Randy Fernandes.
    Super 4's
    Trophy Dash — John Barger.
    A-Main — John Barger, Steve Thompson.
    Street Stocks
    Trophy Dash — Jorddon Braaten.
    A-Main — Jorddon Braaten, Tyler Lockwood.
    Trophy Dash — Matt Duste.
    A-Main — Mark Wauge, Dave Duste Jr., Dustin Knight, Billy Hammon, Jeff Marshall, Brian Poppa, Matt Duste (DNF), Justin Duby (DNF).
Reader Reaction

    Events Calendar