Southern Oregon wildfires

1. The Whiskey Complex consists of the Buckeye fire, the Big Brother fire, the Whiskey fire and the Smith Ridge fire. All four fires were ignited by lightning on July 26.

2. The Douglas Complex has been divided into three branches: Milo, on the east side of Interstate 5; Rabbit Mountain/Union Creek, on the west side of Interstate 5, northwest of Glendale, and Dad's Creek/Panther Butte, west of Glendale. The fires were started July 26 by lightning and are burning on Bureau of Land Management and private forest land. On July 31, officials said no further control problems were expected on the small fires in the Milo branch. The Farmers fire south of Glendale was added to the complex.

3. The Big Windy Complex consists of three fires: Big Windy fire, Calvert Peak fire, and Windy 16 fire. The fires, sparked by July 26 lightning strikes on Bureau of Land Management land, are burning northwest of Merlin, south of the Rogue River.

4. The Brimstone fire is burning some five miles west of Sunny Valley. It is not part of the Douglas Complex. It is lightning-caused and was discovered July 29.

5. The Labrador fire is burning in the Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest and the Kalmiopsis Wilderness adjacent to the Illinois River near the community of Oak Flat. It was started by lightning July 26.

Information is from, the Oregon Department of Forestry and the Forest Service.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.