Rattlers top Soul in ArenaBowl

ORLANDO, Fla. — After winning their second straight ArenaBowl title in their third consecutive championship game, Arizona quarterback Nick Davilla and coach Kevin Guy shied away from dynasty talk.

"I don't want to throw that word around now," Davilla said after throwing six touchdown passes in the Rattlers' 48-39 victory over the Philadelphia Soul on Saturday. "I just want to enjoy this one. We'll focus on winning another next year."

Guy looked back to the Rattlers' last-play loss to Jacksonville in 2010.

"I'm going to think more about the one that got away than the two we've won," Guy said. "I'll the fans and the media talk about dynasties."

Arizona beat Philadelphia for the second straight year to become the first team since Tampa Bay in 1996 to successfully defend an Arena Football League title. The Rattlers also won in 1994 and 1997.

Davilla completed 20 of 29 passes for 315 yards. Rod Windsor had 10 catches for 145 yards and two touchdowns, and Maurice Purify caught four passes for 83 yards and two scores.

Garrett Lindholm was 6 for 6 on extra points and made both field-goal attempts.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.