Putnam, Melvin sweep

WHITE CITY — CJ Putnam and Dwayne Melvin won both the main event and trophy dash in their respective divisions on Saturday at Southern Oregon Speedway.

Putnam took first in dwarf cars and Melvin in B-Modifieds.

Making the move from cage carts, Matt Moberly won on his first attempt in a sprint car. He took the lead on the first lap and never lost it to win the main event.

During qualifying in mini stocks, John Barger set a track record with a time of 15.783 seconds to top Rick Rapp's mark set in 2006. Barger finished fourth in the main event while David Steele got the win.

In modifieds, Jesse Bailey earned his first victory in the A-Main.


A-MAIN — 1, David Steele; 2, Steve Goetz; 3, Curt Ballard; 4, John Barger; 5, James Welchonse; 6, Allen Danielson; 7, Sara Bray; 8, John Derby; 9, Kathy Ingram.

TROPHY DASH — Steve Goetz.


A-MAIN — 1, Dwayne Melvin; 2, Melvin Decker; 3, Rob Fitzsimmons; 4, Mike Medel; 5, Toby Judd; 6, Donald Bandfield.

TROPHY DASH — Dwayne Melvin.


A-MAIN — 1, CJ Putnam; 2, Josh King; 3, Brock Peters; 4, Ryan Smith; 5, Chad Cardoza; 6, Kelly Gutches; 7, Fred Hay; 8, Reggie Ayres; 9, Isaac Martin; 10, Camden Robustelli; 11, Kaycee Sheeler; 12, Kalvin Morton; 13, Jesse Lorentz III; 14, Bill Winter; 15, Tony Engle; 16, Charley McNew.



A-MAIN — 1, Jesse Bailey; 2, Mark Wauge; 3, Curt Coggins; 4, Monte Bischoff; 5, Dave Duste Jr.; 6, Brad Alfrey; 7, Dustin Knight; 8, Melvin Decker; 9, Rich McCoy; 10, Bo Shields.

TROPHY DASH — Mark Wauge.


A-MAIN — 1, Matt Moberly; 2, Kyler Barazza; 3, David Hibbard; 4, Lawrence VanHoof; 5, Raquel Ivey; 6, Preston Jones; 7, Tanner Morrison; 8, John Black; 9, Dave May; 10, Wayne Kniffen.

TROPHY DASH — Raquel Ivey.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.