|
|
|
MailTribune.com
  • Getting married, by the book

    Information from the Jackson County Clerk's Office
  • WHO CAN BE GRANTED A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
    You do not have to be an Oregon resident to obtain a marriage license.
    Oregon law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Those 17 years old must have parental consent before a marriage license can be issued.
    • email print
  • WHO CAN BE GRANTED A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
    You do not have to be an Oregon resident to obtain a marriage license.
    Oregon law prohibits the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 17 years of age. Those 17 years old must have parental consent before a marriage license can be issued.
    WHERE DO YOU GET A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
    Licenses are issued in the County Clerk's Office, 10 S. Oakdale Ave., Room 114, Medford, 97501. Phone: 541-774-6153.
    Application hours are 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., closed 11:15 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
    HOW DO YOU OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
    1. Complete application: Both bride and groom must apply on the public computers in our office. It takes about 30 minutes to process the license, so plan to be in our office no later than 3:30 p.m. in order to complete your application by closing.
    2. Proof of Age: Applicants may be required to show proof of age (driver's license, state-issued ID card, birth record, etc.) to the satisfaction of the clerk.
    3. Permission for those 17 years old: Applicants 17 years of age must bring a parent or guardian with them, or have a notarized consent form with them. We require a certified copy of birth certificate as proof of age and proof of parentage. (The parent will need to provide photo ID at time of purchase.) A form for giving consent to the marriage of a minor is available online at www.co.jackson.or.us/Files/MarriageConsentFM.pdf
    4. License fee: The cost of a marriage license is $55, payable in cash, money order, cashier's check or with a debit/credit card when the license is issued.
    5. Three day waiver form, if necessary, costs $17.
    Even though you will receive your marriage license on the day you apply, you cannot be married until three days later. For example, if you are issued your license on Monday, you cannot be married until Thursday. If that presents a problem, the waiting period can be waived by the County Clerk.
    AFTER YOU HAVE YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE:
    Remember, the license is not valid until three days after it is issued.
    It remains valid for 60 days after the effective date. The license can be used anywhere in the state of Oregon. It must be filed back with the same county it was purchased from.
    YOUR MARRIAGE CAN BE OFFICIATED BY
    1. A judicial officer (judge). (State, federal, municipal and justice of the peace as defined in ORS 1.210)
    2. A County Clerk (schedule permitting)
    3. Religious congregation or organizations as indicated in ORS 106.120 and 106.150.
    4. A clergy person of any religious congregation or organization who is authorized by that congregation or organization to solemnize marriages.
    Two persons over age 18 are required to witness the solemnization of the marriage.
    The marriage license (if not used) expires 60 days from effective date. There is no extension of time, no refunds given and no exceptions.
    Oregon law requires the properly completed original license be returned to the Clerk's Office within 5 days of the marriage. If you decide not to return your license, it is the responsibility of the officiating judge, minister or clerk to do so.
    Your license becomes a record of marriage once it has been returned and signed by the local official. Nothing will be mailed to you after the return of your license. If you would like a certified copy of your license, go to the County Clerk's Office or download the form at www.co.jackson.or.us/Files/CopyOfMarriageLicenseThruMail.pdf and mail it to the Clerk.
    A certified copy costs $7.75 payable in cash, check, money order or debit/credit card.
    The Jackson County Clerk's Office is at 10 S. Oakdale Ave., Room 114, Medford, OR 97501; 541-774-6153.
Reader Reaction
      • calendar