Trevor Palmer, Marci Klimek Gage win Pear races

Trevor Palmer wins the 2014 Pear Blossom 10-mile run in Medford Saturday. Mail Tribune / Jamie Lusch

Trevor Palmer won the 38th annual Pear Blossom 10-mile run with a time of 53 minutes, 10 seconds today in downtown Medford.

The 10-mile victory was the first for the former Crater High and Southern Oregon University standout in three tries. He was third in 2009 and second last year.

Justin Gindlesperger of Grants Pass was second in 53:21.

Marci Klimek Gage of Bend won the women's race for the fourth straight time in 58:00, a personal best here by two seconds over last year. It was her fourth appearance in the race. She trails only Deanna Schiedler-O'Neil in total victories (nine) and consecutive victories (six).

Lauren Johnson of Portland, a member of the Bowerman Athletic Club, was second in 58:29.

There were 1,100 runners who finished the race.

Reader Reaction
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Rules. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or fill out this form. New comments are only accepted for two weeks from the date of publication.