North's Wolfe named 6A coach of year

Four members of state champion Tornado squad get all-state honors

By Staff reports

June 12, 2014

North Medford head baseball coach Brett Wolfe was named the Class 6A coach of the year and four members of the state champion Black Tornado squad received all-state recognition Wednesday.

Wolfe guided North to a 3-2 victory over Sheldon in the 6A championship on June 7, capping a 27-4 season that saw him earn his 400th career coaching victory.

Wolfe secured No. 400 in a 9-3 win over Desert Edge of Arizona at the Coach Bob Invitational in March. He owns a 420-138-1 career record.

He also led the Black Tornado to a state title in 2007.

Senior shortstop Micah Brown was North's lone first-team selection. Brown led the club with 43 hits and a .462 batting average to go with 36 runs and 31 RBIs. He had 14 stolen bases in 16 attempts.

Crater senior first baseman Taylor Tibbets and South Medford senior outfielder Jimmy Sporer also made the first team.

Tibbets, who was the Southern Oregon Hybrid player of the year, had a team-best seven home runs to go with a .357 league batting average (.340 overall), eight doubles, 22 runs and 25 RBIs.

Sporer hit .432 with 35 runs and 13 RBIs in the leadoff spot for the Panthers.

The locals named to the second-team all-state team were Crater junior infielder Ty Plankenhorn, Crater senior outfielder Blake Fahndrich and North Medford junior pitcher Colton Westfall.

Plankenhorn batted .361 with 14 RBIs and 12 runs and Fahndrich .353 with 22 RBIs and 19 runs for the Comets (23-7).

Westfall, who was the winning pitcher in the state title game, finished 13-2 with 97 strikeouts, 43 walks and a 1.58 ERA in 84 innings.

The local honorable mention selections were Crater senior catcher Tyler Aplin and senior pitcher Nolan Bastendorff and North Medford junior infielder Josh Berman and senior pitcher David Crofton.

Aplin hit .364 in SOH play (.290 overall) with 21 runs and 15 RBIs and Bastendorff recorded a 7-3 overall record with a 1.20 ERA, 55 strikeouts and 14 walks in 581/3 innings.

Berman batted .349 with 19 RBIs and 11 runs and Crofton went 8-0 with a 1.53 ERA and 61 strikeouts against 12 walks in 55 innings.

Clackamas outfielder Elliott Cary was named 6A player of the year. He has signed to play at Oregon State and was also a 32nd-round selection by the Washington Nationals in last weekend's MLB draft.

Tualatin's Jacob Bennett was the state pitcher of the year.

In 5A softball all-state voting, Eagle Point sophomore Teanna Gonsalves was selected to the first team. The pitcher and infielder led the Eagles with 32 RBIs and 13 doubles while batting .422. She also was the winning pitcher in nine of Eagle Point's 14 victories.

Four other Eagles received all-state recognition.

Senior outfielder Emily Jeffries was named to the second team. As the team's leadoff hitter, she paced Eagle Point in runs scored (32) while batting .345.

Freshman Megan Ayres landed on the third team after pitching five victories, recording an ERA of 1.56 and striking out 75 batters in 71 innings. She led the Eagles in batting average (.442) and home runs (three).

Senior catcher Brianna Shopp and sophomore shortstop Paige Leeper received honorable mention honors for the Eagles (14-12).