Editorials

  • feed

Other Recent Editorials

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and Jeers - 7/10/2014

    Cheers: To the Medford School District for investing in its summer school program — and by extension, in its students.

  • Our Opinion: Ashland is ahead of the curve on marijuana - 7/9/2014

    We have two words for the city of Ashland's handling of the still-evolving medical marijuana situation: Pretty smart.

  • Our Opinion: County could help library and taxpayers - 7/6/2014

    Jackson County voters have repeatedly shown support for their library system over the past couple of decades, twice approving levies to fund the operations and once approving a massive rebuilding of...

  • Other Views: And then there was one - 7/5/2014

    Oregon might easily have joined Colorado and Washington state in voting to legalize marijuana two years ago.

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and jeers - 7/3/2014

    Cheers — to the surge in building that indicates the Rogue Valley's economic recovery is continuing.

  • Our Opinion: Ashland leads the way - 7/2/2014

    A conflict between the federal Title IX law and an innovative Ashland Police Department rape-reporting program hasn't blocked the program from having great success here, but it can't be implemented...

  • Our Opinion: Free meals go begging - 6/29/2014

    A federal program that provides free breakfast and lunch to school-age children during the summer is an important effort to make sure low-income children get good nutrition all year long.

  • Other Views: The jobs dilemma - 6/28/2014

    Oregon businesses have difficulty finding qualified workers for almost half their openings, according to an annual report released this week by the Oregon Employment Department.

  • Our Opinion: Firefighting foolishness - 6/27/2014

    A brief spell of rain has given the region a respite from drier-than normal conditions that triggered an early start to fire season, but it won't last.

  • Our Opinion: Warrant first, phone search second - 6/26/2014

    Just when it seems the U.S.

  • Our Opinion: Open wide - 6/25/2014

    Voters discouraged by the partisan battles in Oregon politics may have a chance to change the dynamic if an open primary initiative makes the November ballot.

  • Our Opinion: Put down the hammer - 6/22/2014

    If the only tool you have is a hammer, it is tempting to treat every problem as though it were a nail.

  • Other Views: - 6/21/2014

    A proposed pilot program for Oregon's much-ballyhooed Pay It Forward program would involve 4,000 students and take 10 years to show results.

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and jeers - 6/20/2014

    Cheers — To the Fairy Godmother Scholarship Program, which helps local girls attend college.

  • Our Opinion: Open carry is still allowed — and still a bad idea - 6/19/2014

    The Ashland City Council's decision not to ban the open carry of firearms in public was a rational choice, under the circumstances. That doesn't mean openly carrying loaded guns is a good idea.

  • Our Opinion: Swimming on borrowed time - 6/18/2014

    Medford parks officials say they think they can keep Jackson Pool operating for a few more years, but when it inevitably reaches the end of its life, city residents will have a decision to make.

  • Our Opinion: Coping with crisis in schools - 6/15/2014

    The Medford School District's efforts to reach out to troubled students in middle and high school is a much-needed response to a growing problem.

  • Other Views: Oregon will have much to learn about marijuana from Colorado, Washington - 6/14/2014

    Let's assume, for the sake of argument, that some sort of measure legalizing the recreational use of marijuana qualifies for the Oregon ballot in November.

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and jeers - 6/13/2014

    Before we get to the weekly picks and pans, a moment of respectful reflection on the passing of Medford City Councilor Karen Blair.

News In Depth

Growth Related Articles
COUPON OF THE WEEK


Ads by Google