Editorials

  • feed

Other Recent Editorials

  • Our Opinion: Not in it for the money - 7/23/2014

    The Medford City Council is right to consider paying council members something for the time they spend on city business, but that won't necessarily trigger a flood of applicants for a vacant position.

  • Our Opinion: Libraries off to a bad start - 7/20/2014

    The Jackson County Library District board is off to a poor start if members hope to inspire confidence among voters who agreed to create the district and tax themselves to fund it.

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and jeers - 7/18/2014

    Cheers — to the Ashland City Council for acceding to popular demand and voting to keep a kiosk on the downtown Plaza where local residents post notices of musical and other artistic events.

  • Our Opinion: Misusing the process - 7/17/2014

    Being a commissioner in Josephine County, where residents refuse to pay for law enforcement despite the lowest tax rate in the state, has to be one of the more thankless jobs in local government.

  • Our Opinion: It's time to help Highland - 7/13/2014

    Reasonable people may disagree on whether the south Medford interchange with Interstate 5 has been a benefit to the city or was a wise use of tax dollars.

  • Our Opinion: Another one rides the bus - 7/11/2014

    It's a well-worn phrase, but it's true: For the price of one cup of coffee a month, you can help make the community better.

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and Jeers - 7/10/2014

    Cheers: To the Medford School District for investing in its summer school program — and by extension, in its students.

  • Our Opinion: Ashland is ahead of the curve on marijuana - 7/9/2014

    We have two words for the city of Ashland's handling of the still-evolving medical marijuana situation: Pretty smart.

  • Our Opinion: County could help library and taxpayers - 7/6/2014

    Jackson County voters have repeatedly shown support for their library system over the past couple of decades, twice approving levies to fund the operations and once approving a massive rebuilding of...

  • Other Views: And then there was one - 7/5/2014

    Oregon might easily have joined Colorado and Washington state in voting to legalize marijuana two years ago.

  • Our Opinion: Cheers and jeers - 7/3/2014

    Cheers — to the surge in building that indicates the Rogue Valley's economic recovery is continuing.

  • Our Opinion: Ashland leads the way - 7/2/2014

    A conflict between the federal Title IX law and an innovative Ashland Police Department rape-reporting program hasn't blocked the program from having great success here, but it can't be implemented...

  • Our Opinion: Free meals go begging - 6/29/2014

    A federal program that provides free breakfast and lunch to school-age children during the summer is an important effort to make sure low-income children get good nutrition all year long.

  • Other Views: The jobs dilemma - 6/28/2014

    Oregon businesses have difficulty finding qualified workers for almost half their openings, according to an annual report released this week by the Oregon Employment Department.

  • Our Opinion: Firefighting foolishness - 6/27/2014

    A brief spell of rain has given the region a respite from drier-than normal conditions that triggered an early start to fire season, but it won't last.

  • Our Opinion: Warrant first, phone search second - 6/26/2014

    Just when it seems the U.S.

  • Our Opinion: Open wide - 6/25/2014

    Voters discouraged by the partisan battles in Oregon politics may have a chance to change the dynamic if an open primary initiative makes the November ballot.

  • Our Opinion: Put down the hammer - 6/22/2014

    If the only tool you have is a hammer, it is tempting to treat every problem as though it were a nail.

  • Other Views: - 6/21/2014

    A proposed pilot program for Oregon's much-ballyhooed Pay It Forward program would involve 4,000 students and take 10 years to show results.

News In Depth

COUPON OF THE WEEK


Ads by Google