Dear Librarian,

I like historical fiction best, as well as Christian fiction, classics fiction, drama fiction, history nonfiction, horror fiction, realistic fiction and suspense fiction. I like W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear's The First North Americans series, including "People of the Earth" and "People of the Lightning." I like Stephen King and have read most of his work. I like Pauline Gedge and her historical fiction set in Egypt, such as the trilogy that starts with "The Hippopotamus Marsh." I would like to explore more historical fiction by other authors. I don't like crime thrillers or just gory, sadistic reading. I like realism better. I don't like reading a lot of swearing on every page. If it develops a character some of it is OK. I would like to read the Bourne books from the movies starring Matt Damon and I would like to read the books that inspired the "Game of Thrones" television series.

— Debbie

Wow, you read widely! I want to encourage you to read George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" series, the first book of which is "A Game of Thrones." Martin is a prolific writer of fantasy. I'm also recommending "The Iron King" by Maurice Druon, the first book in "The Accursed Kings" series. The series is similar to "Game of Thrones," but is more historical fiction than fantasy.

Since you liked the Bourne films, try Robert Ludlum, who wrote the original Bourne books, as well as anything by Jack Higgins. Both excel in espionage thrillers.

For historical fiction, Sue Harrison might be an author you would enjoy. She wrote "The Ivory Carver" trilogy and the "Storyteller" trilogy, which center on Native American tribes in Alaska.

For historical novels set in ancient Egypt, try the Ramses series by Christian Jacq. Elizabeth Peters writes a solid mystery series set in Egypt around the early 1900s, with a female archaeologist which sounds fabulous.

Stephen King is a treat! I highly recommend his short story collections, "Night Shift" and "Skeleton Crew," as well as his nonfiction tomes "On Writing" and "Danse Macabre," about the influence of horror on popular culture. His voice is even more present and so enjoyable. You may also want to try Joe Hill's "The Fireman," which is very similar in voice and subject as King. Hill is King's son.

— Phoenix Branch Manager Jody Fleming

To get reading advice from a Jackson County Library Services librarian, fill out and submit a book advice form at jcls.libsurveys.com/bookadviceform. You will receive individualized recommendations from a librarian and the advice may be chosen for the Mail Tribune's monthly Dear Librarian column.