fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Players selected all-state

Chassie and Cherrith Wiersma have been a major part of the unprecedented success in girls basketball at Crater High over the past two seasons.

Behind the talented twins, the Comets placed second and seventh in the Class 4A state tournament the last two years, winning Southern Oregon Conference titles both seasons.

The two girls -- who transferred into Crater as juniors -- were recognized this week for their performances by being selected to The Oregonian Class 4A All-State basketball team by the state's coaches.

Chassie Wiersma, a 5-foot-11 senior wing, was selected to the first-team, while 5-9 point guard Cherrith Wiersma received honorable mention.

Chassie and Cherrith are very intense ball players, Crater assistant coach Greg Dippel said. They know how to put on their game face and get it done.

Chassie Wiersma either led the Comets or was second in most major statistical categories this season. She was tops on the team in scoring (13.1 points per game), field goal percentage (52 percent) and free-throw percentage (81 percent), while finishing second in rebounding (5.7), assists (2.6) and steals (1.9).

Chassie is one of the top shooters in the state to go along with an all-around game, said Dippel. She improved her ball handling and that made her tough off the dribble.

Both Wiersmas will attend and play basketball at Oregon State.

Other SOC players recognized on the all-state team were Dolinda Meeker of North Medford and Becky Gregory of Eagle Point, who were third team selections, and North Medford 6-3 senior center Ericka Brosterhous, who received honorable mention recognition.

On the boys all-state team, SOC player of year Travis DeManby of South Medford was accorded the highest recognition of anyone in the conference.

DeManby, who helped the Panthers to seventh place at the state tournament with a 17.5-point average in four games at Portland, was a second-team choice.

He was really the guy that solidified everything for us, South Medford coach Dennis Murphy said. He can score, rebound and it didn't make a difference if he had to defend someone outside or inside. He was definitely our best ball player.

Murphy said DeManby's work ethic contributed to his success: Travis is an example of a kid who made himself a very good basketball player. He is very coachable and worked hard in the off season and during the season.

Klamath Union senior guard Mark Chocktoot and Roseburg center Matt Brown were the only other SOC players honored. Both were an honorable mention picks.


FIRST TEAM Lindsey Yamasaki, Oregon City Sr. Keani Christianson, North Eugene Sr. Chassie Wiersma, Crater Sr. Cheryl Sorenson, Clackamas Sr. Julie Deming, Westview Jr.

SECOND TEAM Jessica Hansen, Oregon City Jr. Sabrina Scott, Lakeridge Jr. Meg LeBlanc, Crescent Valley Sr. Lakesha Jones, Jefferson Sr. Shaquala Williams, Reynolds Sr.

THIRD TEAM Becky Gregory, Eagle Point Sr. Dolinda Meeker, North Medford Sr. Melanie Wagoner, Jesuit Sr. Da'Love Woods, St. Mary's So. Alissa Edwards, Hermiston Jr.

Player of the Year -- Lindsey Yamasaki, Oregon City.

Coach of the Year -- Brad Smith, Oregon City.


FIRST TEAM Frederick Jones, Barlow Sr. Moses Olson, Churchill Sr. Michael Dunleavy, Jesuit Jr. Shawn Kintner, McNary Sr. Adam Masten, Sprague Sr.

SECOND TEAM Terrance Green, Benson Jr. Cameron Carr, West Linn Jr. Travis DeManby, South Medford Sr. David Hodges, West Linn Sr. Craig Lewis, Benson Sr.

THIRD TEAM Ben Coffee, Benson Jr. Chris Lohrey, Beaverton Sr. Bryan Mills, Sheldon Sr. Mike Hood, Beaverton Sr. Tim Johnson, Glencoe Sr.

Player of the Year -- Fredrick Jones, Barlow

Coach of the Year -- Nick Robertson, Beaverton