fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Kinser scores 10th win of 1999


— -- The man known as the King of the Outlaws bagged one more victory Wednesday night.

Steve Kinser started on the pole and led wire-to-wire to win the World of Outlaws event before a record crowd of 5,500 at the Southern Oregon Speedway.

The victory was Kinser's 10th of the season and the 434th of a brilliant World of Outlaws career that dates back to 1978.

Kinser also triumphed at the Southern Oregon Speedway in 1996.

Brent Kaeding of Campbell, Calif., finished second, Lance Blevins of Broken Arrow, Okla., was third and Danny Lososki of Dover, Mo., was fourth.

Season points leader Mark Kinser -- Steve Kinser's cousin and arch-rival -- was never in contention and finished 17th.

Steve Kinser was dominant from the get-go but had to sweat out a left rear tire that was nearly flat by the end of the race.

I just hoped the tire would last, Steve Kinser said.

Dale Blaney and Sammy Swindell were running third and fourth, respectively, with just two laps to go when they tangled and fell out of contention.

The lone wreck of note occurred on the 25th lap when Tim Kaeding flipped coming out of turn three. He was not injured.

Meanwhile, Dan Estremado of Gold Hill won a wreck-marred modified main for his 11th victory of the season. Estremado grabbed the lead from Markey James on the 11th lap of the 30-lap event and held it the rest of the way to pocket the first-place prize of $1,000.

The big battle was for second place. Persistent and consistent Tom Glover wound up the runner-up after starting in the No. 14 position.

Dave Duste Sr., finished third, Bruce Rayburn was fourth and Dennis Silva fifth.

Early in the evening, the speedway track record was broken four times in less than 10 minutes by sprint cars.

Blaney, Swindell, Mark Kinser and Lasoski took turns snapping the record, with Lasoski's time of 11.724 seconds going into the books as the best in track history.

The old mark of 11.964 was set by Jack Haudenschild of Wooster, Ohio in 1997.

— Wednesday's Results


FAST TIME -- Dan Lasoski, 11.724 (track record; old mark 11.964 by Jack Haudenschild, 1997).

FIRST HEAT -- 1, Steve Kinser; 2, Danny Lasoski; 3, Tim Shaffer; 4, Randy Hannagan.

SECOND HEAT -- 1, Brent Kaeding; 2, Dale Blaney; 3, Mark Kinser; 4, Kevin Gobrecht.

THIRD HEAT -- 1, Lance Blevins; 2, Shawna Wilskey; 3, Stevie Smith; 4, Brooke Tatnell.

TROPHY DASH -- 1, Steve Kinser; 2, Brent Kaeding; 3, Lance Blevins; 4, Dale Blaney; 5, Danny Lasoski; 6, Sammy Swindell; 7, Randy Hannigan; 8, Mark Kinser.

B MAIN -- 1, Donny Schatz, Minot, N.D.; 2, Andy Hillenburg, Broken Arrow, Okla.; 3, Brad Furr; 4, Daryn Pittman, Tulsa, Okla.; 5, Mark Cooper; 6, Pat Desbiens; 7, Cale Carter, Medford; 8, Manny Gobel.

A MAIN -- 1, Steve Kinser, Bloomington, Ind.; 2, Brent Kaeding, Campbell, Calif.; 3, Lance Blevins, Broken Arrow, Okla.; 4, Danny Lososki, Dover, Mo.; 5, Randy Hannigan, San Jose, Calif.; 6, Tim Shaffer, Aliquippa, Pa.; 7, Ken Gobrecht, New Oxford, Pa.; 8, Stevie Smith, New Oxford, Pa.; 9, Andy Hilgenburg, Broken Arrow, Okla.; 10, Johnny Herrera, Tempe, Ariz. 11, Jeff Swindell, Memphis, Tenn.; 12, Brooke Tatnell, Sydney, Australia; 13, Jason Meyers, Clovis, Calif.; 14, Brad Furr, Pleasonton, Calif.; 15, Donny Schotz, Minot, N.D.; 16, Joe Gaerte, Rochester, Ind.; 17, Mark Kinser, Oolitic, Ind.; 18, Sammy Swindell, Cordova, Tenn.; 19, Daryn Pitman, Tulsa, Okla.; 20, Mark Cooper, Chico, Calif. 21, Pat Desbiens, Roseburg; 22, Randy Tiner, Rio Linda, Calif.; 23, Tim Kaeding, Campbell, Calif.


FIRST HEAT -- 1, Rob Gavin; 2, Dave Duste; 3, Scott Lenz; 4, Clarence Reddick.

SECOND HEAT -- 1, Dennis Silva; 2, Matt Duste; 3, Bruce Rayburn, Sr; 4, Tom Glover.

THIRD HEAT -- 1, Mark Wauge; 2, Dave Duste, Sr.; 3, Markey James; 4, Dan Fisher.

FOURTH HEAT -- 1, Rich McCoy; 2, Dan Estremado; 3, Dan Wells; 4, Dustin Jenks.

TROPHY DASH -- 1, Dennis Silva; 2, Rob Gavin; 3, Rich McCoy.

MAIN -- 1, Dan Estremado; 2, Tom Glover; 3, Dave Duste; 4, Bruce Rayburn; 5, Dennis Silva; 6, Steve Croucher; 7, Rob Fitzsimmons; 8, Dave Duste Jr.; 9, Lloyd Speer; 10, Dan Fisher. 11, Dustin Jenks; 12, Matt Duste; 13, Jeff Pottruff; 14, Darrell Thompson; 15, Markey James; 16, Scott Lenz; 17, Rich McCoy; 18, Mark Wauge; 19, Ron Possinger; 20, Dan Wells; 21, Rob Gavin.