fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Lucas, Potocki chosen first-team all-state

Stephanie Lucas wasn't fortunate enough to play for a winning girls soccer program for most of her prep career at Eagle Point. Nevertheless, the speedy senior provided the Eagles with plenty of individual achievement.

Lucas was a starter as a freshmen, has been team captain since her sophomore season and a Southern Oregon Conference first-team all-star three times, including player of the year the past two.

The high-scoring forward, who has verbally committed to attend Oregon State University next year on a soccer scholarship, received one more honor Tuesday with a first-team selection to the Class 4A all-state squad.

A pair of local boys -- Ashland's Zach Potocki and Hidden Valley's Matt Johnson -- received first-team all-state recognition in Class 4A and Class 3A/2A/1A, respectively.

Lucas scored 37 goals this season in leading the Eagles to their first winning season.

The thing that sets her apart from other players is her desire to know more about the game, Eagle Point coach Tim Sweeney said. She always wants to learn more.

Lucas used a combination of speed and intelligence to score 98 goals and total 25 assists in four years.

She's ambidextrous with her feet, said Sweeney. You can't take either foot away from her, and you can't give her any space. She's so quick and accurate.

North Medford senior forward Tennille Bennett received girls' Class 4A third-team recognition.

Potocki, a senior defender, helped Ashland to an SOC undefeated season and a berth in the Class 4A state semifinals. He was the 1999 SOC boys player of the year.

He's a leader and knows the game well, Ashland coach Eisa Tiaa Tou Tou said. His presence helped control our defense and let our midfielders do exactly what was needed to be done.

Senior midfielder Eric Sharp, one of the Grizzlies' leading scorers, was a third-team selection, as was South Medford senior defender Ben Buchta.

Hidden Valley's Johnson led the Mustangs in goals (31) and assists (12) this season. The junior forward recorded five hat tricks.

He's got lightening speed, Hidden Valley coach Charlie Seal said. He has the ability to stop on a dime and change directions, which makes him a tough person to defend. He has an eye for the goal.

Sophomore defender Al Albright of Phoenix and sophomore midfielder Peter Staver of St. Mary's were Class 3A/2A/1A boys third-team picks.

District 6 girls champion Phoenix landed three players on the all-state list. Senior forward Jennifer Bones was picked to the second team, while senior forward Lisa Perry and senior goal keeper Tara Curtis were third-team selections.


F -- Nate Jaqua, South Eugene Sr. M -- Taylor McCool, Mountain View Jr. F -- Cody Hagler, Canby Sr. D -- Zach Potocki, Ashland Sr. M -- Erik Cronkite, Corvallis Sr. M -- Josh Bohm, Lakeridge Sr. F -- Jarrod Weis, Glencoe Sr. D -- Adam Parsons, Centennial Jr. F -- Kyle Ostenson, Jesuit Sr. M -- Brian Orth, Jesuit Sr. GK -- Andy Ward, South Salem Sr.

Player of the Year-- Nate Jaqua, South Eugene Coach of the Year-- John Stockton, Mountain View


F -- Courtney Carter, Jesuit Sr. F -- Lauren Mussallem, Lake Oswego Sr. D -- Caitie Davidson, Centennial Jr. M -- Megan Cecchini, Tualatin Jr. F -- Megan Nelson, South Eugene Sr. M -- Anna-Kate Peterson, Cleveland Sr. F -- Jaime Abelman, Crescent Valley Jr. M -- Christie Spear, Mt. View Jr. F -- Stephanie Lucas, Eagle Point Sr. D -- Courtney Campbell-Clarke, Jesuit Sr. GK -- Kim Carey, Lake Oswego Sr.

Player of the Year-- Courtney Carter, Jesuit Coach of the Year-- Dominic Yambasu, Lake Oswego

— Class 3A/2A/1A


M -- Ryan Cochrane, LaSalle Jr. F -- Josh Duyan, Catlin Gabel Jr. M -- Jon Duke, Marist Sr. F -- Jeff Eberhardt, Philomath Sr. M -- Jason Keeler, Pacific Sr. F -- Matt Johnson, Hidden Valley Jr. M -- Travis Garber, E. Linn Christian Sr. F -- Octavio Garcia, Ontario Sr. M -- Athel Miller, Portland Christian Jr. M -- Joel Clark, The Dalles Sr. GK -- Terry Boss, Philomath, Sr.

Player of the Year-- Ryan Cochrane, La Salle Coach of the Year-- Chris Thurley, La Salle


D -- Anna Hare, Catlin Gabel Sr. F -- Katie Mak, Valley Catholic So. M -- Amy Jackson, Marist Sr. F -- Kerianne Lawson, Molalla Sr. M -- Jeanie Thomsen, The Dalles Sr. F/M -- Dena Young, Mazama Sr. F -- Ali Jepson, Catlin Gabel Sr. M -- Mariette Boyce, Wilsonville Sr. M/D -- Sara Williams, Philomath Sr. M/D -- Laura Kehoe, Marist Jr. GK -- Randa Nunn, Philomath Sr.

Player of the Year-- Anna Hare, Catlin Gabel Coach of the Year-- John Williams, Philomath