fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Prep wrestling

Top-ranked Comets romp to RV championship

The Crater Comets flexed their muscles in a big way at the Rogue Valley Wrestling Championships Saturday at South Medford High.

The defending Class 4A state-champion Comets crowned 11 individual titlists in winning their third consecutive Rogue Valley title with a dominating performance. Eagle Point finished a distant second.

It was a real productive day, not only for our kids but for our focus toward the end of the year, Crater coach Greg Haga, whose team advanced 14 wrestlers into the finals. We had several kids coming off injuries that did a great job competing and being aggressive.

Haga was as satisfied with the showing of his backups as he was with the 11 champions, which included both of the tournament's outstanding wrestlers -- Justin Godley and Matt Lee.

The one thing it does show, which I had a question about, is our second varsity and they came through today, said Haga. That's probably the most positive thing. They're starting to believe in themselves that they can compete with anyone.

At the 191-pound division, Crater's Mike Whitehead defeated teammate Scott Toney for the title.

Lee was the obvious selection as the top wrestler in the heavier weight classes.

Matt wasn't tested at all today, said Haga. He pinned all his guys in the first round. He was awesome.

Godley, the defending Southern Oregon Conference champion, also went through the 135-pound bracket without much difficulty.

PARTICIPATING TEAMS -- Ashland, Crater, Eagle Point, Hidden Valley, Illinois Valley, North Medford, North Valley, Rogue River.


103 -- 1, Morgan Edenstrom, Eagle Point; 2, Andy Oman, Crater; 3, Nick Minard, Rogue River; 4, Jason Kruggel, South Medford.

112 -- 1, Chad Griffin, Crater; 2, Bob White, Illinois Valley; 3, Steve Himmelman, South Medford; 4, Wes Hunt, Crater.

119 -- 1, Morgan Hawkins, Crater; 2, Matt Gentry, North Valley; 3, Dereck Jaramillo, Eagle Point; 4, Brandon Anders, Crater.

125 -- 1, Joey Morgan, Crater; 2, Garrett Romele, Rogue River; 3, Mike Lopez, Eagle Point; 4, Nick Kezer, Eagle Point.

130 -- 1, B.J. McFall, Eagle Point; 2, Jayson Stratton, Crater; 3, Bob Pool, Crater; 4, Jacob Bean, South Medford.

135 -- 1, Justin Godley, Crater; 2, Tim Cotner, Rogue River; 3, Ryan Bray, Eagle Point; 4, Jesse Camp, Illinois Valley.

140 -- 1, Joe Green, Crater; 2, Darek Smith, Eagle Point; 3, Ryan Miller, Illinois Valley; 4, Kevin Deweese, North Valley.

145 -- 1, Josh White, North Valley; 2, Matt Bray, Eagle Point; 3, Nathan Reed, Crater; 4, Adam Klein, Rogue River.

152 -- 1, Shane Webster, Crater; 2, Jamie Mannenbach, Eagle Point; 3, Dan Zimmerman, Hidden Valley; 4, John Whitaker, North Medford.

160 -- 1, Matt Lee, Crater; 2, Bret Thomas, Eagle Point; 3, Levi Chamberlain, Eagle Point; 4, Ryan Goff, Crater.

171 -- 1, Jed Pennell, Illinois Valley; 2, Tanner Hillyer, Crater; 3, Jason Welch, Eagle Point; 4, Evan Pogue, Eagle Point.

189 -- 1, Mike Whitehead, Crater; 2, Scott Toney, Crater; 3, Norris Bier, North Medford; 4, Ben Vandagrift, South Medford.

215 -- 1, Cameron Fjarli, Crater; 2, Carlos Alvarez, Eagle Point; 3, Anders Vetch, Crater; 4, Bret Rhodes, North Medford.

HWT -- 1, Burk Thomas, Crater; 2, Blake Cam, Eagle Point; 3, Brian Backstrom, North Medford; 4, Brandon Glasscock, Rogue River.

ARCATA ROTARY WRESTLING TOURNAMENT -- At Arcata, Calif, sophomore Tyler McCarty of Phoenix was selected as the outstanding wrestler in the lower weights in the 24-school tournament.

McCarty pinned Richard O'Shea from Deer Valley, Calif., at 3:30 in the 130-pound finals to capture one of two individual titles for the Pirates.

Phoenix finished eighth in the tournament with 135 points. Roseburg won the event with 197 points.

Pirate sophomore Brandon Sousa won the 125-pound crown. Sousa registered a technical fall against Kevin McEachern from Deer Valley in the finals.

Other Pirate placers were Brian Monical, who finished second with a double-overtime loss in the finals, and Kyle Kaufman, who was fourth at 135.