fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Eagles run away with tourney

EAGLE POINT — Blake Cam capped a dominating effort by the Eagle Point wrestling team Saturday as the Eagles ran away with their own 11-team tournament.

The defending state heavyweight champion ran his record to 31-0 with a 12-3 decision over Caleb Elliott of Redmond.

In all, the Eagles placed 10 men in the finals and won eight of 14 weight classes. In a match between two Eagles, Tyson Nelson edged Lucas Schauffler, 6-3, for the 160-pound title.

Schauffler suffered a concussion early in the season and has just begun to pick up his pace.

North Medford had one wrestler in the finals, 215-pounder Norris Bier. Bend's Robert Sauter, a runner-up in last year's Class 4A state meet, needed a takedown in the final five seconds to score a 5-3 win.


Eagle Point 364?, Redmond 284, Clackamas 154, Hidden Valley 113, Bend 112, Mazama 88, North Medford 77, South Umpqua 70?, Klamath Union 59?, Douglas 44, Ashland 11.

— 103 — Championship:

Justin Sheile, EP, dec. Travis Ralls, Red, 4-0; Third-place:

Dave Seven, Cla, dec. Dustin Power, Maz, 9-3.

— 112 ?


Joe Lewis, EP, dec. Ryan Enoch, Red, 15-6; Third-place:

Keith Pedrick, HV, pinned Dan Denmark, Cla, 1:55

— 119 ?


Chris Krebs, Red, pinned Vince Coppedge, Maz, 3:12; Third-place:

Andrew Larson, EP dec. Ken Cook, HV, 5-0.

— 125 ?


Weston Lerwill, Red, dec. Justin Winner, EP, 11-3; Third-place:

Lewis Vinton, Cla, dec. Chase Enoch, Red, 6-4.

— 130 ?


Morgan Edenstrom, EP, dec. Chris Hudson, Red, 7-3; Third-place:

Steven Price, EP, pinned Flynn Madlin, HV, 2:15.

— 135 — Championship:

Jake Ledbetter, Dou, dec. Zack Nutter, Bend, 13-7; Third-place:

Brian Hays, EP, dec. Nick Kezer, EP, 6-1.

— 140 — Championship:

John Gallo, EP, pinned Joel Britt, SU, 4:41; Third-place:

Jason Adams, EP, dec. Jordon Sidor, Cla, 10-4.

— 145 ?


Chet McBee, EP, dec. Scott Loescher, Cla, 5-3; Third-place:

Rick Nye, Bend vs. Kevin Coffman, Bend (double-forfeit).

— 152 ?


Cyle Hartzell, Red, dec. Drew Hunter, Cla, 10-3; Third-place:

Darek Smith, EP, dec. Christian Mannenbach, EP, 8-2.

— 160 ?


Tyson Nelson, EP, dec. Lucas Schauffler, EP, 6-3; Third-place:

Matt Tompkins, Red, pinned Charles, Lundgren, SU, 2:36.

— 171 — Championship:

James Mannenbach, EP, pinned Matt Williams, Cla, 4:24; Third-place:

Dan Geise, SU, won by forfeit over Robert Kincaid, KU.

— 189 ?


Dave Trujillo, KU, pinned Nathan Combe, HV, 2:24; Third-place:

Daryl Taylor, Red, dec. Aaron Skinner, HV, 12-3.

— 215 ?


Robert Sauter, Bend, dec. Norris Bier, NM, 5-3; Third-place:

Morgan McDonald, Maz, pinned Curt Strickland, 3:28.

— HWT — Championship:

Blake Cam, EP, dec. Caleb Elliott, Red, 12-3. Third-place:

Nick Smith, NM, pinned Brian Petersen, Maz, 4:26.0.

CRATER CLAIMS TITLE- At Hillsboro, Crater crowned two champions and placed seven others in the top six en route to the Hillsboro Tournament championship.

Shane Webster posted three pins and a technical fall in the 171-pound championship to land outstanding wrestler of the tournament honors, while Ben Tibbetts swept through the heavyweight bracket for a title.

It was a good balanced effort, said Crater coach Greg Haga. Everybody won matches and pulled off some big matches along the way.

Crater scored 171? points to edge Newberg (157) and Canby (138) for the team title in a tournament that historically has foreshadowed the standings of the Class 4A state tourney.

Justin Samples placed second at 189 for Crater, while Bob Pool was third (140), Aaron Harleman fourth (215), Levi Wisdom fourth (152), Wes Hunt fifth (125), Cody Ponder fifth (103) and Nate Gipson sixth (112).

— TEAM SCORES (Top 10)

— — 1, Crater, 171?; 2, Newberg, 157; 3, Canby, 138; 4, Oregon City, 137; 5, West Linn, 119; 6, Crook County, 109; 7, Sprague, 96?; 8, (tie) Marshfield and Hillsboro, 79; 10, Cascade, 78?.

WILLAMETTE TOURNAMENT -At Eugene, Brandon Sousa was chosen outstanding wrestler for the middle weights and was one of four Phoenix champions as the Pirates won the 19-team event.

Phoenix posted a winning total of 220 points, while runner-up Thurston tallied 210?. Illinois Valley placed fifth (111?), North Valley sixth (94) and Rogue River placed 15th (41?).

Sousa registered three falls in four matches en route to the 145-pound title.

Other Pirate champions were Tyler McCarty (135), Forest Jacobs (152) and Nick Acord (160). Phoenix had three runner-ups, Kevin Cowley (103), George Pearce (140) and Greg Brown (189). Jesse Clark (125) and Keanon Ferguson (215) of Phoenix finished third.

Illinois Valley received second-place performances from Matt Britt (125), Eddie Middleton (130), Mike Paggnotta (135) and Ryan Emery (171). IV's Jesse Camp was third at 140.

North Valley captured an individual title when Brenden McLean defeated Phoenix's Brown 7-3 in the 189 finals.

Rogue River's Nick Minard suffered his first loss in 20 matches this season when he lost 2-0 in the 119-pound finals to undefeated Jeff Farnes of North Salem.