fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Local Report:

Golfers notch their first aces at area courses

Two golfers, Lester McCoy of Medford and Chris Hale of Bend, recently had their first hole-in-ones.

McCoy recorded his first ace in 34 years of playing golf when he had one on the No. 2 hole at StoneRidge Golf Club Tuesday.

McCoy, 67, used a 6-iron on the 139-yard hole. His playing partners were Mike Shine, George Juveland and Larry Stanley.

Hale had his March 30 at the Eagle Point Golf Course.

Hale aced the par-3 15th hole, knocking in a pitching wedge on the fly from 115 yards. It was his first and was witnessed by Matt Davison.

Champion soccer team raising funds for regional

A state champion boys soccer team will be seeking assistance from the community to help cover the costs of its trip to the West Regional Tournament.

The under-19 boys team, the Rogue Valley Soccer Club Crew, won the state championship with a 3-2 win over FC Portland in the Snickers State Cup on May 5. The win qualified it to participate in the regionals June 24-30 in Albuquerque, N.M.

The fund-raisers include a "50-50" drawing during the Rogue Valley Cup tournament this weekend.

Tickets will be sold Saturday and the drawing will be held during Goalie Wars at North Medford High School Saturday evening. Ticket holders don't have to be present to win.

The team also will be selling $5 tickets for a car wash to be held June 2 at the Jacksonville Texaco station. In all, the players hope to raise $10,000.

Sports car club slates driving event at Expo

The Siskiyou Sports Car Club is sponsoring an autocross driving event Saturday and Sunday at the Jackson County Expo Park.

The public is invited to participate in this timed competition that tests one's driving skills on a challenging cone course. Almost any car can participate, with competitors slotted in corresponding divisions.

Event registration begins both days at 8 a.m., with racing at 9:30. Cost for the events are $5 for first-timers, $20 for returning non-club members or $15 for club members per day.

Trophies are awarded in each car classification. Concessions will be available on site.

For more information, contact Jeff at 772-5497 or Mark at 773-2661.

OIT schedules return of women's hoops program

KLAMATH FALLS - Oregon Institute of Technology announced the return of the women's basketball program for the 2002-03 school year after a 12-year hiatus.

Tom Loney, the head volleyball coach for the Owls, will serve double duty as the coach of the women's basketball program also.

Mary Bradford coached the OIT women's basketball team from its inception in 1975 through 1988. Robin (Parker) Greene followed Bradford as coach during the final two years of the program before the sport was eliminated.

Lee wins S.O. All-Stars bowling championship

ROSEBURG - Medford's Jerome Lee has many titles to his name, but last weekend, he picked up the one that's eluded him thus far.

Lee edged out Grants Pass' Mick Pruhliere, 204-198, in the finals to capture his first Southern Oregon All-Stars Grand Finals win at the Cedar Bowl.

In the stepladder final, Medford's Jim Brockbank used a 232 game to get past Ric Donnelly, also of Medford, who shot a 212.

Roseburg's Blaise Bedolla knocked out Brockbank in the next round with a 213-196 score, then Prulhiere ousted Bedolla to set up the match with Lee.

Southern Oregon All-StarsGrand Finals

1, Jerome Lee, Medford, $1,500; 2, Mick Pruhliere, Grants Pass, $900; 3, Blaise Bedolla, Roseburg, $700; 4, Jim Brockbank, Medford, $550; 5, Ric Donnelly, Medford, $600; 6, Brian Tinsley, Klamath Falls, $475; 7, Jim Carlson, Medford, $430; 8, Allan Reyes, Ashland, $400; 9, Kelly Swope, Medford, $380; 10, Greg Newtson, Klamath Falls, $360; 11, Jason Bieghler, Medford, $350; 12, Ron Hubbard, Roseburg, $340.

13, Jason Taylor, Klamath Falls, $330; 14, Monte Marler, Klamath Falls, $320; 15, Kevin Croucher, Grants Pass, $310; 16, Jesse Dobson, Bend, $300; 17, Jason McCleary, Medford, $290; 18, Bryan Roberts, North Bend, $280; 19, Jan Davies, Klamath Falls, $275; 20, Greg Hafner, Medford, $270; 21, Brian Sendelbach, Medford, $265; 22, Steve Mead, Ashland, $260; 23, Ryan Bauman, Medford, $255; 24, Paul White Jr., $250.

High Points TournamentAt Indian Lanes

1, Bob Korth, Medford, $500; 2, Andy Magerle, Medford, $400; 3, Phil Friesen, Roseburg, $325; 4, Dave Grimes, Bend, $300; 5, Gary Holloway, Klamath Falls, $240; 6, Gary Lueker, Klamath Falls, $230; 7, Randy Cochran, Grants Pass, $220; 8, Lela Larkin, Medford, $210.

9, Mike Kringelbach, Medford, $200; 10, Dick Kyker, Medford, $200; 11, Alf Foshaug, Myrtle Creek, $195; 12, Mike Cornutt, Roseburg, $190; 13, Larry Rux, Medford, $185; 14, Keith Hall, Grants Pass, $180; 15, Dean Laber, Myrtle Point, $175; 16, Alan Sabin, Roseburg, $170.

Yearly Award Winners

ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAM - Brian Tinsley, Klamath Falls; Blaise Bedolla, Roseburg; Allan Reyes, Medford; Ron Hubbard, Roseburg; Jason Taylor, Klamath Falls.

BOWLER OF THE YEAR - Allan Reyes, Medford.SENIOR BOWLER OF THE YEAR - Ron Hubbard, Roseburg.HIGH AVERAGE - Allan Reyes, Medford.SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD - Bryan Roberts, North Bend.MOST IMPROVED BOWLER - Allan Reyes, Medford.ROOKIE OF THE YEAR - Ryan Bauman, Medford.