fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Mazama dominates Skyline all-stars

As reward for its undefeated regular season and Skyline Conference championship, the Mazama football team dominated the Skyline all-star selections.

John Mathis, the Vikings' ninth-year head coach, was named coach of the year by his peers.

Senior running back Seth Morehouse and senior linebacker Matt Starley were voted the offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, by Skyline coaches.

Mazama, which finished 10-1 after a quarterfinal loss to Ontario in the Class 3A state playoffs, gobbled up five spots on the first-team offense and five more on the first-team defense.

Starley, a 6-foot-4, 190-pounder, earned first-team honors at tight end and placekicker in addition to his defensive achievements.

Phoenix had just one first-team selection, senior wide receiver Martin Gonzalez.

After Rogue River made the playoffs for the first time since 1979, the Chieftains placed two players on the first-team offense and three on defense.

Senior guard Ryan Vann and senior running back Nick Bashans were the offensive representatives; junior lineman Justin Schram, senior defensive back Tim Love and junior punter Matt Branch claimed spots defensively.

A complete listing of the Skyline all-stars follows.




Jonah BoersNorth ValleyOTSr

Patrick SniderMazamaOTSr

Jeremy DugasIllinois ValleyOGSr

Ryan VannRogue RiverOGSr

Ryan HampsonMazamaCSr

Matt StarleyMazamaTESr

Martin GonzalezPhoenixWRSr

Allen BeckNorth ValleyWRJr

Seth MorehouseMazamaRBSr

Ariah NeadNorth ValleyRBSr

Natty KraussIllinois ValleyRBJr

Nick BashansRogue RiverRBSr

Tim CunhaNorth ValleyQBSr

Matt StarleyMazamaKSr



Eric BrosterhausMazamaDLSr

Eric ThorntonMazamaDLSr

Jimmy WhiteIllinois ValleyDLSr

Justin SchramRogue RiverDLJr

Brandon RankinNorth ValleyLBSr

Aaron LindseyNorth ValleyLBSr

Chris LookeIllinois ValleyLBSr

Matt StarleyMazamaLBSr

Erik RichardsonNorth ValleyDBSr

Mike PagnottaIllinois ValleyDBJr

Tim LoveRogue RiverDBSr

Neil SnellMazamaDBSr

Aaron PhillipsMazamaDBSr

Matt BranchRogue RiverPJr

Offensive Player of the Year '

Seth Morehouse, RB, Mazama.

Defensive Player of the Year '

Matt Starley, LB, Mazama.

Coach of the Year '

John Mathis, Mazama.




Vern HullPhoenixOTSr

Justin TocherRogue RiverOTSr

Tom SimpsonHidden ValleyOGSr

Stephen KeenNorth ValleyOGSr

Nate RichardsIllinois ValleyCSr

Oley CrockerIllinois ValleyTESr

Matt BranchRogue RiverWRSr

Brian EvansHidden ValleyWRSr

David TelleHenleyRBSr

Ryan McGrawMazamaRBJr

Kyle BlankMazamaQBSr



Nathan PappeHenleyDLSr

Dan DaltonNorth ValleyDLSr

LJ KingPhoenixDLJr

Cameron BaldwinHidden ValleyDLSr

David TelleHenleyLBSr

Joe CarboneRogue RiverLBSr

Abe SmithRogue RiverLBSr

Nick OrozcoHidden ValleyLBJr

Kyle BlankMazamaDBSr

Bryan KenyonPhoenixDBSr

Brady RhodesPhoenixDBSr



Phil Gibson, Phoenix, OT, Sr; David Prewitt, Henley, OG, Jr; Issac Gansberg, Mazama, OG, Jr; Kevin Ford, Rogue River, OG, Sr; Matt Hillis, North Valley, C, Sr; Brian Simmons, Rogue River, C, Sr; Ian Hallows, Hidden Valley, C, Jr; Zach Sayre, Hidden Valley, WR, Sr; Brandon McGraw, Mazama, WR, Sr; Geoff Phelps, North Valley, RB, Jr; Max Boots, Phoenix, RB, So; Trevor Schmidt, Hidden Valley, RB, Sr; Josh Pope, Illinois Valley, RB, Jr; Brady Rhodes, Phoenix, QB, Sr.

DEFENSE ' Chancey Woods, Illinois Valley, DL, Jr; Mike Kuenstler, Rogue River, DL, Jr; Jason Hammon, Phoenix, DL, Sr; Trace Barrett, Phoenix, DL, Sr; James Myers, Henley, DL, Sr; Scott Leroy, Henley, LB, Jr; Matt Britt, Illinois Valley, LB, Sr; Matt Frederick, Rogue River, LB, Jr; Martin Gonzalez, Phoenix, DB, Sr; Kevin Brissette, Hidden Valley, DB, Sr; Sam Kane, North Valley, DB, Sr; Drew Dechenne, North Valley, DB, Jr.