fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

North's Folsom player of the year

A few things are getting to be old hat for North Medford junior Rob Folsom.

The standout athlete has tasted success in every sport he's played as a Black Tornado, and that has continued into the spring baseball season with his team advancing to the quarterfinal round of the Class 4A state tournament.

For his part, the North Medford catcher was named Southern Oregon Conference player of the year in a vote of the league's coaches.

SOC champion North Medford had five first-team selections, Roseburg had three first-teamers and South Medford, Crater and Ashland had two each.

— Eagle Point and Klamath Union had one each.

KU's Tim Simmers guided the Pelicans to second place and was named coach of the year.

Hitting in the leadoff spot, Folsom boasted a team-high .506 batting average to go along with seven home runs, 26 RBIs, 37 runs and eight stolen bases.

Also for North, seniors Dustin Butler and Brett Timmerman garnered first-team honors as pitchers, while fellow Black Tornado seniors Tyler Engle (infield) and Reese Lamson (outfield) made the first team.

Butler, a second-team selection at first base last season, won nine games in as many decisions and limited the opposition to just eight earned runs in 51 innings for a 1.10 ERA.

Timmerman, who earned first-team honors for the second-straight year, also posted an unblemished record at 8-0 and struck out 37 in 411/3 innings with a 2.37 ERA.

Engle hit .318 with four homers and 25 runs, while Lamson led the Tornado with 19 steals and hit .403.

South junior Corey O'Neill and sophomore Dan Chancler made the squad as outfielders. O'Neill batted .418 with 15 RBIs, and Chancler hit .413.

First baseman Chad Hegdahl of Ashland made a return trip to the first team after leading the conference with a .511 batting average. Teammate Chris Presicci (.369) made it as a utility player.

Crater pitcher Kevin Mulder posted a 4-2 record and 3.86 ERA in making the first unit, joining infielder Adam Reed.

Eagle Point's Tyson Nelson was a first-team infielder after hitting .372 with three homers and 13 RBIs.

SOC Baseball All-Conference



Dustin ButlerPN. MedfordSr.

Brett TimmermanPN. MedfordSr.

Kevin MulderPCraterSr.

Jon JamesPKlamathSr.

Rob FolsomCN. MedfordJr.

Dan MecumCGrants PassSr.

Chad HegdahlIFAshlandJr.

Nick WaechterIFRoseburgSr.

Tyler EngleIFN. MedfordSr.

Adam ReedIFCraterJr.

Tyson NelsonIFEagle PointSr.

Marcus SimoneOFRoseburgSr.

Reese LamsonOFN. MedfordSr.

Corey O'NeillOFS. MedfordJr.

Dan ChanclerOFS. MedfordSo.

Tye McCoolUTRoseburgSr.

Chris PresicciUTAshlandSr.

Player of the Year '

Rob Folsom, North Medford.

Coach of the Year '

Tim Simmers, Klamath Union



Nick WaechterPRoseburgSr.

Chad HegdahlPAshlandJr.

Kerry HallPRoseburgJr.

Kurtis KnutsonPCraterJr.

Ricky O'CallahanCEagle PointSr.

Mike PeilaCCraterSr.

Dustin ButlerIFN. MedfordSr.

Chris PresicciIFAshlandSr.

Josh McGowanIFGrants PassSr.

Russ VandellIFN. MedfordJr.

Beau HovlandIFN. MedfordJr.

Aaron BuxtonIFRoseburgSo.

Jeremy FrantzOFS. MedfordSr.

Jimmy UlreyOFN. MedfordSr.

Bryan ClevengerOFAshlandSr.

Andrew NorumOFCraterSr.

Jon JamesUTKlamathSr.


Pitchers '

Nolan Morgan, Grants Pass, So.; Travis Glass, North Medford, Sr.

Catcher '

Bryan Rogers, Klamath Union, Jr.

Infielders '

Ryan Davidson, Grants Pass, Sr.; Sean Teaters, Crater, Jr.; Jackson Rowe, Ashland, Jr.; Colin Schoonover, Crater, Sr.; Ryan Augin, Eagle Point, So.; Tim Holtz, South Medford, Jr.

Outfielders '

Casey Hedrick, Eagle Point, Sr.; Scott Snow, Eagle Point, Sr.; Brian Quigley, Klamath Union, Sr.; Sean Anderson, Klamath Union, Sr.