fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Menne wins sprint main

WHITE CITY ' Matt Menne registered his first sprint car main-event victory Saturday at Southern Oregon Speedway.

Menne held on for the win over T.J. Winningham in the 12-car field.

Billy Nutter, who finished fifth, jumped out to an early lead followed by Menne, Andy Gregg and Winningham.

On Lap 9, Menne got into Nutter and sent him off the second turn and into the crash wall. Nutter lost a front wheel and had to be towed to the pits.

On the restart, Vern Wheeler Jr. flipped off of Turn — and brought out a red flag.

On the restart, Menne quickly distanced himself from the pack by about eight car lengths.

— Frank Word III picked up his fourth win of the season in the 25-lap main event for the pro stocks

Word passed Chris Charlton on the fourth turn of the final lap to take the checkered flag.

In other events, rookie Regie DeVore won his first super fours main event and Crash Jackson was victorious in dwarf cars feature.

Sprint Cars

Trophy Dash

' 1, Billy Nutter; 2, Andrew Gregg 3, Matt Menne; 4, Anthony Nunes; 5, T J Winningham; 6, Todd Zeitler;

First Heat ?

1, Billy Nutter; 2, Matt Menne; 3, Charlie Cash; 4, Vern Wheeler Jr.; 5, Anthony Nunes; 6, Paul Zimmerly; 7, Wayne Kniffen; (dns)

Second Heat -1, Randy Rodgers; 2, Todd Zeitler; 3, Andrew Gregg 4, T J Winningham; 5, Ron Smith; 6, Jerrod Goodnough;

Pro Stocks

Trophy Dash '

1, Frank Word III; 2, Albert Gill; 3, Chris Charlton; 4, Jer Deubert.

First Heat -

1, Dave Statterfield; 2, Chris Charlton; 3, Jared Morrill; 4, Mike Jones; 5, Brian Bowman; 6, Todd Kinsey; 7, Bo Shields; 8, Dave Everson (dns).

Second Heat -1, Albert Gill; 2, Jer Deubert; 3, Buster McElreath; 4, Jim Hill; 5, Donnie Hale; 6, Jamie McCleary; 7, Brian Bowman; (dns).

Third Heat -1, Joe Guider; 2, Frank Word III; 3, John Duffie; 4, Terry Townsend; 5, Lee Burton; 6, Chris Ellis; 7, Butch Poppa; 8, Wayne Cahill.

Super Fours

Trophy Dash '

1, Brian Barnes; 2, Terry Hadley; 3, Reggie DeVore; 4, Lee Doty.

First Heat -1, Brian Barnes; 2, Lee Doty; 3, Kevin Gudzan; 4, Vicki Macormic.

Second Heat ?

1, Reggie DeVore; 2, Terry Hadley; 3, Greg Arnold; 4, Robert Cole.

Dwarf Cars

Trophy Dash '

1, Ed Starner; 2, Fred Hay; 3, Dan Van Acker; 4, Gary Fitzsimmons; 5, Mitch Sheeler; 6, Herman Pulyer.

First Heat -1, Ed Starner; 2, Gary Fitzsimmons; 3, Jerry Appland; 4, Lee Gifford; 5, Barry Dresen; 6, James Gerlach.

Second Heat -1, Dan Van Acker; 2, Mitch Sheeler; 3, Nick Dresen; 4, Loren Johnson; 5, Dan Fairchild; 6, Jeff Saxon; 7, Joey Silva.

Third Heat -1, Fred Hay; 2, Herman Pulyer; 3, C. Jackson; 4, Joe Fort; 5, Greg Denton; 6, Rick Sequeira; 7, Daniel Smith.