fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Crater claims Rogue Valley Classic title

Comets crown four champions and place 18 in the top-sixEven a shorthanded Crater wrestling squad proved to be the class of the Rogue Valley Classic at North Medford High School on Friday.

Minus five wrestlers from their starting dual lineup, the Comets cruised to the tournament title with 345&

189; points ' 121&

189; more than their nearest competitors.

Grants Pass edged South Medford by a half-point for second place, with Eagle Point fourth and North Medford fifth in the 10-team tournament.

Collin Brooks, one of Crater's regulars, won the 171-pound title by defeating North Medford's Chris Platt, 5-0, in one of the day's marquee matches.

The match proved to be a reversal of the Southern Oregon Conference dual between North and Crater on Dec. 8, in which Platt won 7-3.

Platt was coming off a championship performance in the Reno Tournament of Champions on Dec. 29 in which he beat out 63 others in his 171-pound bracket.

— Chase Maloney also won for the Comets at 160, defeating North Valley junior Zack Giesen, 11-4. Maloney, a senior, won the Class 4A state title last season at 152, while Giesen earned his second straight Class 3A state title last year with a triumph at 135.

Crater's Jake Vizzini won at 112 with a pin over Eagle Point's Dennis Clifford, while fellow Comet Chris Robertson won at 189 with an 11-4 decision over Riley Gibson of Phoenix.

Overall, the Comets had 18 wrestlers place in the top-six.

Host North Medford managed three champions in Jon Ulrey (119), Josh Smith (152) and Tim Endecott (275), who earlier this week in Reno placed third at heavyweight with a 6-1 record.

Ulrey, Smith and Ryan Folsom each turned in 5-2 records but failed to place at the Tournament of Champions.

Friday at 135 pounds, South Medford's Chris Helman decisioned teammate Seth Hernandez 4-3 in an all-Panther final. Juan Aguilar cruised through the 103-pound bracket for South, beating Zach Kezer in the finals.

Phoenix was the top Class 3A school at the Rogue Valley Classic, placing sixth overall as Nick Amuchastegui won the 140-pound title and Kris Kaufman won at 125 for the Pirates.

Friday's Results

At North Medford High School


Crater 345&

189; , Grants Pass 224, South Medford 223&

189; , Eagle Point 186, North Medford 164&

189; , Phoenix 162, Illinois Valley 143, North Valley 110, Hidden Valley 32, Rogue River 20.

Championship Finals

103 '

Juan Aguilar, SM, dec. Zach Kezer, Cra, 14-7; 112 '

Jake Vizzini, Cra, pinned Dennis Clifford, EP, 3:11; 119 '

Jon Ulrey, NM, dec. Jacob Miller, IV, 11-6; 125 '

Kris Kaufman, Pho, dec. Tyler Stewart, GP, 11-7; 130 '

Richard Alves, GP, major dec. Jesse Swift, IV, 11-3.

135 '

Chris Helman, SM, dec. Seth Hernandez, SM, 4-3; 140 '

Nick Amuchastegui, Pho, dec. Eric Sedivy, GP, 5-1; 145 '

Chris Hotch, GP, dec. Jake McCoy, EP, 10-7; 152 '

Josh Smith, NM, dec. Zach Pagnotta, IV, 8-3.

160 '

Chase Maloney, Cra, dec. Zack Giesen, NV, 11-4; 171 '

Collin Brooks, Cra, dec. Chris Platt, NM, 5-0; 189 '

Chris Roberston, Cra, dec. Riley Gibson, Pho, 11-4; 215 '

Tyler Dungey, GP, pinned Bryan Heinrichs, SM, 5:40; 275 '

Tim Endecott, NM, dec. Brennon Olander, NV, 5-2.

Third-Fourth Finals

103 '

Jesse King, NV, dec. Shane Torville, Pho; 112 '

Ryan Black, Pho, pinned Tim Seig, GP, 5:56; 119 '

Kevin Leonardo, EP, major dec. Andrew Vanwey, Cra, 11-2; 125 '

Brian Kezer, Cra, pinned Del Severns, NV, 5:34; 130 '

Devin Mauck, Cra, major dec. Zach Glanz, Pho, 14-3.

135 '

Anthony Broskey, Pho, pinned Arin Zon, Cra, 1:35; 140 '

Travis Harvey, SM, dec. Joe Ziegler, SM, 4-3; 145 '

Paulo Rocha, IV, won by forfeit; 152 '

Dan Swift, SM, dec. Tanner Marval, GP, 5-1.

160 '

Ryan Folsom, NM, major dec. Mike Moberly, Cra, 17-6; 171 '

Dennis Orvis, EP, major dec. Nathan Orchard, NV, 12-2; 189 '

Jon Lang, SM, pinned Justin Clarke, EP, 3:05; 215 '

Marcus Wyatt, EP, dec. Nick Grabowski, Cra, 10-4; 275 '

Albert Wessels, GP, pinned Will Sheperd, Cra, :23.

Fifth-Sixth Finals

103 '

Mike Cowell, GP, dec. Spencer Dorrin, EP; 112 '

Tyler Winner, Cra, pinned Carline Lawson, NM; 119 '

Jerry DeBoer, SM, dec. Stewart Fety, RR, 6-3; 125 '

Jared Miller, IV, tech. fall Matt Wilson, EP, 23-7; 130 '

Robbie Mannenbach, EP, major dec. Frank Charlton, EP, 13-5.

135 '

Nick Hamilton, EP, won by forfeit; 140 '

Adam Miller, IV, major dec. Will Smith, Cra, 8-0; 145 '

Noah Berman, Pho, pinned Jon Platt, NM, 1:30; 152 '

tie, Adam Lindgren, Cra and Brandon Price, EP.

160 '

Alex Brummer, SM, dec. Kelsey Dobner, GP, 5-3; 171 '

Cory Oxford, SM, major dec. Anthony Miller, IV, 16-6; 189 '

Nick Lyons, Cra, pinned Ben Hughes, GP, 1:56; 215 '

Kyle Eding, Cra, pinned Joe Cornett, HV, :35; 275 '

Aaron Francis, HV, pinned Chuck Grabowski, Cra, :42.