fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Adamson, Eubank return to first squad

Roseburg player, coach take top honors again

The Southern Oregon Conference baseball season played out with very few surprises this season.

Favored Roseburg clinched the conference title, with fellow league heavyweights North Medford, South Medford and Crater all earning playoff bids.

So it was no surprise when a few familiar names made an appearance on the first-team all-SOC list.

North Medford senior first baseman Abe Eubank and South Medford senior shortstop Jared Adamson were repeat first-teamers, while Roseburg senior pitcher Blake Keitzman took home player-of-the-year honors for the second straight season.

Indians coach Troy Thompson was also named coach of the year for the second straight season after guiding top-ranked Roseburg to a 23-1 overall record and 20-1 mark in the SOC.

— South Medford also placed pitcher Ryan Odell and utility player Zach Wilson on the first team, while catcher Darren Bruhns and outfielder Logan Odom made the first unit for North.

Outfielder Tyler Davis, catcher Charlie Reina and infielder Chuckie Grabowski made the first team for Crater.

Roseburg pitcher Eric Thompson and infielder Randy Summers, along with Klamath Union infielder Adam Cornachione, Grants Pass outfielder Craig Dolmage and Eagle Point outfielder Derek Grieve rounded out the first team.

Adamson batted .429 with four home runs, a league-high 27 RBIs and 32 runs, and he struck out only six times in 91 at-bats.

He's just been solid as a rock for us, said Panther coach Steve Antich. He's consistent and he leads with his actions.

We expected more of the same, and he delivered this season.

Eubank led the SOC with five home runs, and he added a .368 batting average and 21 RBIs while drawing a league-high 15 walks. The amount of free passes is indicative of the respect the Tornado slugger has earned from opposing pitchers.

The careful approach by pitchers plus an illness early in the season caused Eubank to get off to a slow start.

This has been a tough year for Abe, said North coach Brett Wolfe. He started out with a bad virus and was sick for three or four weeks. Not many people knew that.

About the time Eubank recuperated, so, too, did the Tornado. It won six of its last eight SOC games to make the playoffs, and its star first baseman raised his batting average roughly 70 points during that period, said Wolfe.

Eubank ripped his sixth homer Saturday to help North Medford ease past Oregon City 4-1 in a first-round Class 4A state tournament game.

He has a big bat and always has had a big bat for our program, said Wolfe.

Wilson hit .382 for South, while Odell posted an 8-2 record with a 1.30 ERA in 481/3 innings of work.

North's Odom hit .344 to go with 20 RBIs, and he did not commit an error from his spot in right field. Bruhns, the Tornado's lead-off hitter, batted .384 with three home runs, 19 RBIs and 25 runs.

For Crater, Grabowski posted an SOC-best .457 batting average, Davis hit .402 with 12 stolen bases and Reina hit .414 with four homers while anchoring the Comet pitching staff.

Grieve hit .327 for Eagle Point, Dolmage swiped a league-high 17 bases to lead Grants Pass and Thompson posted an 8-1 mark with a 0.75 ERA for the Indians.

The Oregon State University-bound Keitzman went 11-0 with a whopping 148 strikeouts and a minuscule 0.44 ERA in 79 innings to help him earn the player-of-the-year award.

SOC Baseball All-Conference



Blake KeitzmanPRoseburgSr.

Eric ThompsonPRoseburgSr.

Ryan OdellPSouth MedfordSr.

Darren BruhnsCNorth MedfordJr.

Charlie ReinaCCraterJr.

Abe Eubank1BNorth MedfordSr.

Jared AdamsonIFSouth MedfordSr.

Adam CornachioneIFKlamath UnionSr.

Chuckie GrabowskiIFCraterSr.

Randy SummersIFRoseburgSr.

Craig DolmageOFGrants PassJr.

Logan OdomOFNorth MedfordJr.

Tyler DavisOFCraterJr.

Derek GrieveOFEagle PointSr.

Zach WilsonUTSouth MedfordSr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR ' Blake Keitzman, Roseburg.

COACH OF THE YEAR ' Troy Thompson, Roseburg.



Ben MurrayPGrants PassSr.

Tommy GeorgePSouth MedfordSr.

Chris ThomasPCraterJr.

Ben KoziolCSouth MedfordSr.

Mark CruzCKlamath UnionSr.

Tyler Schmidt1BCraterSr.

Nick StallerIFEagle PointSr.

Cory StaniforthIFCraterJr.

Justin MezaIFAshlandJr.

Zack JamesIFNorth MedfordSr.

Boone FarringtonIFRoseburgSo.

Dane HappenyOFSouth MedfordSr.

Mark BrooksOFKlamath UnionSo.

Taylor ComfordOFSouth MedfordJr.

Tony MurphyOFCraterSr.

Logan FosenburgUTEagle PointJr.



' Shasta Bateman, Eagle Point, Sr.; Trevor McCleery, North Medford, Sr.


' Mitch Garcia, Grants Pass, Sr.; Lewis Sebrell, Ashland, Fr.

First Base

' Rick Imhausen, South Medford, Sr.; Jake Waardenburg, Klamath Union, So.


' Shawn O'Brien, Grants Pass, Jr.; John Tommasini, Roseburg, Jr.


' Max Gordon, Ashland, So.; Zach Boskovich, Crater, So.; Mitchell Nelson, Roseburg, Sr.; Mickey Schmorde, Roseburg, Sr.


' Dustin Shipley, North Medford, Sr.; Daniel Lovemark, Crater, Sr.

Adamson, Eubank return to first squad"kgoff@mailtribune.com.

South shortstop Jared Adamson, left, batted .429 and led the SOC with 32 runs and 27 RBIs. He struck out only six times. Mail Tribune / Roy Musitelli - Mail Tribune Roy Musitelli