fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Grizzlies plentiful on all-SSC list

A week and a half after capping a 10-0 regular season and two days before their first playoff game since 2000, the Grizzlies are getting a well deserved pat on the back.

Ashland High senior safety/punter Sam Gaviglio was the co-defensive player of the year and his coach, Charlie Hall, was voted co-coach of the year as the Grizzlies were rewarded for their undefeated regular season with the release of the Southern Sky Conference all-star football team on Wednesday.

Gaviglio was one of nine Grizzlies to garner first-team nods — five on offense, four on defense — and was the only one to make the first team at two different positions. Ashland also had six second-teamers and five honorable mentions.

"It's great for our kids to get that kind of recognition," Hall said. "(Gaviglio's) very deserving of the defensive player of the year honor because of what he's done defensively, and you've got to love what he's done as a punter. It's hard to single anybody out, but when you look at Sam, there's no question that he's that valuable."

Gaviglio is averaging 38 yards per punt on 36 attempts, with 13 of those boots being downed inside the 20-yard line. He also has two interceptions and 331/2 tackles.

Sharing the defensive player of the year award with Gaviglio is Crater free safety Bryce Peila. The 6-foot-2, 190-pound senior racked up 43 solo tackles on the season, 17 assisted and four for a loss. The senior certainly had a knack for being around the ball. He intercepted seven passes, broke up 10 others, forced two fumbles and recovered three.

"There's no question he's the best defensive player, we feel, in southern Oregon and definitely in the SSC," said John Beck, the Crater head coach and SSC co-coach of the year. "He's an impact player, and he's become a real student of the game."

Eagle Point's Garrett Davis (wide receiver) and Scott Erickson (quarterback) shared the offensive player of the year award.

Erickson, a JV player last season, tossed for a state-high 2,809 yards and 25 touchdowns this season on 281-of-414 passing. Davis, who missed half of the 2006 season with a broken ankle, hauled in a staggering 100 receptions for 1,101 yards and 11 touchdowns. The next highest reception total in the conference was 46 by Tyler Kinert and Jake Ringrose, both also of Eagle Point.

"It's pretty amazing," Eagle Point coach Harry Hedrick said of Erickson's and Davis' production. "The numbers speak for themselves. The offense was set up for throwing the ball, it was just a matter of whether they could catch on, and they both took to the offense quickly and had a lot of success."

Also earning first-team honors for Ashland were Julian Ewald (DL), Issa Shahin (DL), Josh Scarminach (LB), Lewis Sebrell (RB), Matt Lipski (OL), Sage Jensen (OL), Josh Hogeland (WR) and Charlie Sebrell (K).

Hall felt the voting accurately reflected the cream of the SSC crop overall, but thought Ashland quarterback Matt Dierks deserved better than an honorable mention nod after completing 99 of 166 passes for 1,329 yards, 20 touchdowns and just four interceptions.

"To say (Dierks is) an honorable mention in our league is a gross understatement," Hall said.

Ewald leads the Grizzlies' defense with 431/2 tackles and six sacks, while Scarminach ranks third on the team with 40 tackles to go with three sacks. Shahin has 361/2 tackles and four sacks.

Offensively, Lewis Sebrell has rushed for 1,017 yards and eight touchdowns on 169 carries, while Hogeland is averaging 19.7 yards per catch on 26 receptions for 51 yards and 13 scores.



Yr Sch Pos

Scott Erickson Sr. EP QB

D.J. Pree Jr. C RB

Hunter Lange Sr. KU RB

Lewis Sebrell Jr. A RB

Zach Boskovich Sr. C TE

Austin Rowley Jr. EP OL

Adam Waisneiwski Sr. C OL

Matt Lipski Sr. A OL

Anthony Timmerman Sr. C OL

Sage Jensen Sr. A OL

Garrett Davis Jr. EP WR

Mark Brooks Sr. KU WR

Josh Hogeland Sr. A WR

Bryce Peila Sr. C WR

Charlie Sebrell Jr. A PK


Yr Sch Pos

Adam Waisneiwski Sr. C DL

Zach Heppner Sr. EP DL

Julian Ewald Sr. A DL

Issa Shahin So. A DL

Josh Scarminach Sr. A LB

Zach Boskovich Sr. C LB

Dario Mobley Jr. C LB

Kenny Fahndrich Jr. C LB

Mark Brooks Sr. KU DB

Jake Ringrose Sr. EP DB

Sam Gaviglio Sr. A DB

Bryce Peila Sr. C DB

Sam Gaviglio Sr. A P

Nick Brothers Sr. C P

Offensive Players of the Year — Garrett Davis, Jr., EP, WR; Scott Erickson, Sr., EP, QB.

Defensive Players of the Year — Sam Gaviglio, Sr., A, P; Bryce Peila, Sr., C, DB.

Coach of the Year — Charlie Hall, A.



Yr Sch Pos

Jon Amos Jr. KU QB

Kenny Fahndrich Jr. C RB

Jake Ringrose Sr. EP RB

Pat Hutchinson Jr. A RB

Angelo Cavarretta Jr. M RB

Randy Denson So. KU TE

Derick Nealy Sr. M TE

Matt Olvera Sr. KU OL

Nick Brandt Sr. KU OL

Brian Hodgkins Jr. EP OL

Luke Jannusch Sr. A OL

Tyson Hoffman Sr. C OL

Tyler Kinert Sr. EP WR

Eric Chadderdon Jr. KU WR

Christian Massey Jr. C PK

Honorable Mention — Nick Brothers, Sr., C, QB; Matt Dierks, Sr., A, QB; Dario Mobley, Jr., C, TE; Joe Hatch, Jr., A, OL; Jeff Peters, Jr., A, OL; Cody Osuna, Jr., C, OL; Ryan Smith, Sr., EP, WR; Josh Lokeno, Jr., C, WR; Charlie Sebrell, Jr., A, WR.


Yr Sch Pos

Austin Rowley Jr. EP DL

Zach Luther Sr. KU DL

Ryan Baxter Sr. C DL

Dan Cowan Jr. A DL

Derick Nealy Sr. M DL

Jack Rasmussen Sr. A LB

Nate Oxford Sr. C LB

Eric Chadderdon Jr. KU DB

Nick Brothers Sr. C DB

Rick Sayler Sr. A DB

Max Gordon Sr. A DB

Luke Ramsey Jr. M DB

Honorable Mention — Jake Stone, Sr., C, DL; Brian Hodgkins, Jr., EP, LB; Deon McLaughlin, So., KU, LB; Brandon Davis, Jr., EP, DB; Will Bowers, Jr., A, DB; Josh Lokeno, Jr., C, DB.

Grizzlies plentiful on all-SSC list