fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Holmes, Lime pace locals on Midwestern all-star list

On a Midwestern League football all-conference list that ran 120 selections deep, Eagle Point senior lineman Tyrone Holmes was sure to have his name pop up somewhere.

Then again, teams tended to shy away from his side of the field when he was on defense and focused their attack elsewhere when he was on offense, leaving Holmes to wonder if limited opportunities would have any impact on his all-star status.

Turns out, Holmes had nothing to worry about.

The 6-foot-4, 235-pound senior not only was named to the first team as an offensive tackle and defensive lineman, he wound up sharing honors for defensive player of the year and MWL player of the year in recent voting by the league's coaches.

"Throughout the season it was pretty frustrating because a lot of teams ran away from me," said the 18-year-old Holmes, "but I guess that was a sign of respect. I didn't get too many chances to make too many plays but it's a huge honor to be noticed like that by the coaches that I played against."

Holmes was one of two Eagle Point players to earn first-team all-conference honors, with senior linebacker Garrett Snow also making the list.

Ashland senior Franklin Lime earned a remarkable three first-team honors to pace the Grizzlies, who finished runner-up to Marist in the MWL standings and one spot ahead of the Eagles. The versatile 6-4, 200-pounder earned first-team status as a tight end, defensive lineman and punter.

Joining Lime on the first team were Ashland teammates Ian Wurfl (senior placekicker), Mason Montgomery (sophomore linebacker) and Sam Geisslinger (senior defensive back).

Holmes managed 68 tackles — 12 for a loss — and 10 sacks during MWL play, also intercepting one pass to go with two caused fumbles and two fumble recoveries. On Monday, he gave his verbal commitment to play football next year at Portland State University.

Holmes shared defensive MVP honors with Marist junior Austin Baird, and was joined on the player of the year list by Baird and Marist quarterback Kameron Smith. Willamette running back Jordan Visarraga shared the offensive MVP honors with Smith and Marist wide receiver Taylor Walcott. Marist's Frank Geske was named MWL coach of the year.

Snow was the Eagles' leading tackler during the league season with 76 tackles to go with two sacks, one interception, one caused fumble and one fumble recovery. Snow was a second-team running back after running for 777 yards and 12 scores during the regular season and handled all the special teams duties to cap a season in which he rarely left the field.

Lime's versatility was definitely on display this season, too, with the senior sporting a team-high nine sacks and 17 1/2 tackles for loss among his 46 tackles. He also forced three fumbles, blocked four kicks and managed a 35.1-yard punting average — with 10 of his 33 punts downed inside the 20-yard line. On offense, Lime hauled in a team-high 34 passes for 467 yards and four touchdowns.

Wurfl converted three of his four field-goal attempts and was 37-for-44 on his extra-point kicks, while Montgomery led the Grizzlies with 89 tackles. Playing through a knee injury all season, Geisslinger came up with one interception, four pass breakups and 27 tackles.

All-MWL Football



C — Isaias Giron, Springfield, Sr.

G — Trent Waggoner, Willamette, Sr.; Clanton Self, Springfield, Sr.

T — Tyrone Holmes, Eagle Point, Sr.; Paxton Miller, Marist, Sr.

WR — Austin Baird, Marist, Jr.; Josh Palement, Marist, Sr.; Taylor Walcott, Marist, Sr.; Tucker Molinski, Churchill, Sr.

TE — Franklin Lime, Ashland, Sr.; Bryce York, Willamette, Jr.

RB — Greg Park, Marist, Sr.; Jordan Visarraga, Willamette, Sr.

QB — Kameron Smith, Marist, Jr.

PK — Ian Wurfl, Ashland, Sr.

SPECIAL TEAMS — Austin Baird, Marist, Jr.


DL — Tyrone Holmes, Eagle Point, Sr.; Franklin Lime, Ashland, Sr.; Paxton Miller, Marist, Sr.; Chase Towlerton, Springfield, Jr.

LB — Garrett Snow, Eagle Point, Sr.; Mason Montgomery, Ashland, So.; Weston LaMora, Churchill, Jr.; James Banks, Marist, Jr.

DB — Sam Geisslinger, Ashland, Sr.; Peter Estrada, Churchill, Sr.; Austin Baird, Marist, Jr.; Jonathan Emerald, Springfield, Jr.

P — Franklin Lime, Ashland, Sr.; Colton Bowden, Marist, Sr.

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR — Tyrone Holmes, Eagle Point, Sr.; Kameron Smith, Marist, Jr.; Austin Baird, Marist, Jr.

MVP DEFENSE — Tyrone Holmes, Eagle Point, Sr.; Austin Baird, Marist, Jr.

MVP OFFENSE — Kameron Smith, Marist, Jr.; Jordan Visarraga, Willamette, Sr.; Taylor Walcott, Marist, Sr.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Frank Geske, Marist.



C — Hunter DeLange, Eagle Point, Sr.

G — Brandon Dale, Eagle Point, Sr.; Andres Gutierrez, Ashland, Sr.

T — Alec Ralston, Ashland, Sr.; Tyler Johnson, Willamette, Jr.

WR — Sam Geisslinger, Ashland, Sr.; Andrew Bennion, Churchill, Jr.; Jonathan Emerald, Springfield, Jr.; Tyler Reid, Churchill, So.; Dylan Piquette, Springfield, Jr.; Bryce York, Willamette, Jr.

TE — Zach Reed, Eagle Point, Sr.; Dalton Milburn, Marshfield, Sr.; Kyle Guibbini, North Eugene, Sr.

RB — Garrett Snow, Eagle Point, Sr.; Jon Volz, Ashland, Jr.; Aaron Ingram, Churchill, Sr.

QB — Mitch Reese, Churchill, Jr.

PK — Josh Han, Churchill, Sr.; Ashton Summers, Springfield, Jr.

SPECIAL TEAMS — Garrett Snow, Eagle Point, Sr.; Tyler Reid, Churchill, So.


DL — Alec Ralston, Ashland, Sr.; Gavin Cowles, Churchill, Jr.; Tony Ford, Marist, Sr.; Trent Waggoner, Willamette, Sr.

LB — Austin Chandler, Ashland, Jr.; Aaron Ingram, Churchill, Sr.; Greg Park, Marist, Sr.; Tyler Johnson, Willamette, Jr.; Jake DeZarn, Churchill, Sr.; Ty Cutting, Marshfield, Sr.

DB — R.J. Atteberry, Ashland, Jr.; Ryan Evans, Churchill, Sr.; Ryan Koth, North Eugene, Sr.; Zach Hatefi, Willamette, Sr.

P — Josh Han, Churchill, Sr.; Britton Auxier, Springfield, Sr.



C — Mason Montgomery, Ashland, So.; Lane Henderson, Willamette, Jr.; Dalton Pachano, North Eugene, Jr.; Eric Hammersmith, Marist, Jr.

G — Logan Hartrick, Ashland, Sr.; Manny Valdovinos, Eagle Point, Sr.; Skylar Phillips, Churchill, Jr.; Will Dawson, Churchill, Jr.; Dante Castille, Marist, So.; Mitch Olive, Marist, Sr.; Chase Towlerton, Springfield, Jr.

T — Trevor Olsen, Eagle Point, Sr.; Conor Morrison, Ashland, Sr.; Isael Huesca, Churchill, Sr.; Collin Smith, Churchill, Sr.; Tony Ford, Marist, Sr.; Bradley Beudrey, Marshfield, Jr.; Kevin Hasse, North Eugene, Jr.; Hayden Zimmerman, Marshfield, Jr.; Bryan Stanwood, Springfield, Jr.; Sam Duncan, Willamette, Sr.

WR — Taylor Humphrey, Ashland, Sr.; Carlos Flores, Eagle Point, So.; Quaid Walters, Ashland, Jr.; Jakob McAvoy, Marshfield, Jr.; Dante Giles, Willamette, Jr.

RB — Jakob Combs, Eagle Point, Jr.; James Banks, Marist, Jr.; Ty Cutting, Marshfield, Sr.; Sean Collum, North Eugene, Sr.; Jevon Garcia, Springfield, Jr.

QB — Danial White, Ashland, So.; Jason Sweet, Marshfield, Jr.; Britton Auxier, Springfield, Sr.; Dustin Leber, Willamette, Sr.

SPECIAL TEAMS — Jordan Thompson, Ashland, Sr.; Jevon Garcia, Springfield, Jr.


DL — Zach Reed, Eagle Point, Sr.; Nick Owens, Eagle Point, Sr.; Will Dawson, Churchill, Jr.; Darren Kime, Churchill, So.; Josh Harper, Marist, Jr.; Josh White, Marist, So.; Ty Mannila, Springfield, Jr.;

LB — Andrew Blocher, Ashland, Sr.; Nate Parks, Churchill, Sr.; Colton Bowden, Marist, Sr.; Alan Smeltzer, Springfield, So.

DB — Jordan Thompson, Ashland, Sr.; Kyle Salisbury, Churchill, Sr.; Bennett Chiongbian, Marist, Sr.; Dante Giles, Willamette, Jr.

Reach reporter Kris Henry at 541-776-4488, khenry@mailtribune.com, www.facebook.com/krishenryMT or www.twitter.com/Kris_Henry