fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Ashland's Flynn makes first-team all-state

Three Ashland High baseball players have earned Class 5A all-state recognition, including first-team pitcher Jamie Flynn, a junior.

Also for Ashland, senior Ethan Schlecht was named a second-team infielder and senior Billy Hansen an honorable mention first baseman.

Kevin Hamann of Summit was named the 5A pitcher of the year, North Eugene's Andrew Moore the player of the year and Wilson coach Mike Clopton the coach of the year.

The all-state team is voted on by the coaches.

Flynn's first-team recognition puts an exclamation point on what turned out to be a breakout year for the hard throwing right-hander. After seeing only limited varsity action as a sophomore, Flynn emerged as the Grizzlies' ace, finishing 8-2 with a 1.27 ERA and 81 strikeouts in 66 innings pitched. The banner season also included two dominant postseason performances — back-to-back three-hit complete game victories over both Marist and Hood River Valley.

Schlecht was a stalwart on both defense and offense for the Grizzlies. Playing mostly in the middle infield, he anchored the defense and was also one of the team's most consistent hitters, batting .375 with 15 RBIs and a .512 slugging percentage.

Though Hansen, the cleanup hitter, was honored for his work at first base he also played shortstop for the Grizzlies. He batted .378 with a .490 on-base percentage and 14 RBIs.

Flynn, Schlecht and Hansen also secured first-team all-Southern Oregon Conference 5A honors, joining a long list of Grizzlies to earn that distinction. The others were senior catcher Evan Westhelle-Grant, senior pitcher Jack Carroll, senior outfielder Taylor Humphrey, sophomore infielder Eric Carlson and sophomore outfielder Bryce Rogan.

Class 5A all-state

Pitcher of the Year: Kevin Hamann, Summit

Player of the Year: Andrew Moore, North Eugene

Coach of the Year: Mike Clopton, Wilson


First team: Daniel Aranda, sr., Lebanon; Kevin Hamann, sr., Summit; Cody Walker, sr., Hood River Valley; Jake Lessel, sr., Churchill; Jamie Flynn, jr., Ashland

Second team: Josh Havig, sr., Dallas; Gerhett Moser, jr., Wilson; Keynan Middleton, sr., Milwaukie; Clayton Gelfand, jr., Wilsonville

Honorable mention: Taylor Bonawitz, sr., Sherwood; Trent Waggoner, sr., Willamette


First team: Kyle Beam, jr., Hood River Valley; Kruze Mingus, sr., Summit

Second team: Bret Moskal, jr., Dallas; Luke Rappe, jr., Lebanon

Honorable mention: Chase Kearney, sr., Churchill; Alex Rose, sr., Liberty

First base

First team: Tommy Lane, jr., Pendleton; Mason Dunning, sr., Putnam

Second team: Konner Reddick, sr., Summit

Honorable mention: Chris Sampson, sr., Cleveland; Billy Hansen, sr., Ashland


First team: Austin Andrews, jr., Wilson; Andrew Moore, sr., North Eugene; Lane Richards, sr., Pendleton; Joe Balfour, jr., Sherwood

Second team: Jackson Soto, so., West Albany; Jonah Koski, jr., Bend; Jacob Dezarn, sr., Churchill; Kendall Main, sr., Sandy; Ethan Schlecht, sr., Ashland

Honorable mention: Nolan McCall, so., The Dalles-Wahtonka; Kinkade Fast, jr., Dallas; Jon Dailey, sr., Sherwood


First team: Jimmy Cleary, sr., Corvallis; Bret Bafaro, sr., Liberty; Reese Merriman, sr., Pendleton; Chase Cochran, sr., Crescent Valley; Josh Spencer, sr., Dallas

Second team: John Carroll, jr., Mountain View; Ryan Delaney, sr., North Eugene; Justin Erlandson, jr., Bend; Eli Skiles, sr., Putnam; Jake Peterson, sr., Cleveland

Honorable mention: Zach Selby, sr., Willamette; Lathan Alger, sr., Pendleton


First team: JJ Keim, sr., Corvallis

Second team: Ben Kramer, sr., Bend

Honorable mention: Jalen Drath, jr., Willamette

Designated hitter

First team: Scott Schepige, jr., Dallas

Second team: Camran Pollick, jr., Hermiston

Honorable mention: Colton Muir, jr., Wilsonville