fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Grizzlies land all-star nods

Six Ashland High baseball players were voted Midwestern League all-stars by the league's coaches, including five first-team selections.

Earning first-team honors for the Grizzlies were junior pitcher Peyton Fuller, junior first baseman Nick Sanderson, senior infielder Caleb Bell, senior outfielder TarQuin Daley and junior outfielder Jesse Carroll. 

Ashland sophomore Kellar Edwards was a second-team pick as a utility player and senior first baseman Matt Flynn was an honorable mention.

Marist senior Matt Haney was voted the MWL's player of the year, Churchill junior Brock Townsend the league's pitcher of the year and Crater's Jay Campbell the coach of the year.

Fuller, a hard-throwing righty, was 6-0 with a 2.46 ERA during the regular season. He closed out Ashland's first-round Class 5A playoff win over Wilsonville and two days later held defending state champion Hood River Valley to two runs (Ashland lost the quarterfinal game 2-0).

Sanderson led the Grizzlies in batting average (.481), runs batted in (35) and also had nine doubles and two home runs. The power-hitting lefty also hit a three-run homer in Ashland's first-round win over Wilsonville and went 5-2 on the mound with a 2.33 ERA.

Carroll hit .451 with three home runs, 10 doubles and two triples and ranked second on the team with 25 RBIs. 

Daley hit .382 and scored 15 runs in 16 games before a car accident ended his season prematurely. Bell hit .359 and scored 25 runs.

Edwards hit .408 with five doubles and Flynn hit .300 with two doubles.

The Grizzlies finished 19-9 overall and 11-7 in the MWL, good enough for a third-place finish in one of the toughest leagues in the state. Hood River went on to beat Churchill, another MWL team, 1-0 in the state semifinals Tuesday to advance to the state championship game.

Many of the Grizzlies will soon be playing for the Ashland Pilots. Ashland's American Legion single-A team opens its season June 10 at Roseburg.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Matt Haney, Sr., Marist.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Brock Townsend, Jr., Churchill.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jay Campbell, Crater.

First Team

PITCHER: Brock Townsend, Jr., Churchill; Peyton Fuller, Jr., Ashland; Neil Bastendorff, Sr., Crater; Devin Miller, Jr., Marist.

CATCHER: Zack Trivett, Jr., Churchill.

FIRST BASE: Nick Sanderson, Jr., Ashland.

INFIELD: Matt Haney, Sr., Marist; Nick Bastendorff, So., Crater; Lantz Cline, Sr., Churchill; Caleb Bell, Sr., Ashland.

OUTFIELD: TarQuin Daley, Sr., Ashland; Ryan Lorenz, Sr., Eagle Point; Jesse Carroll, Jr., Ashland.

UTILITY: Jake Ireland, Jr., Crater.

Second Team

PITCHER: Jordan Rubin, Sr., North Eugene; Coldin Shopp, Jr., Eagle Point.

CATCHER: Andrew Jablonski, Sr., Marist.

FIRST BASE: Brandon DeShaw, Sr., Churchill.

INFIELD: Shay Hall, Jr., Crater; Dylan Marsh, So., Eagle Point; Marcus Lydon, Jr., Marist.

OUTFIELD: Drew Lara, Jr., Marist; Cole Wilkinson, So., Churchill; Devin Proudfit, Sr., North Eugene; Hayden Deuel, Sr., Crater.

UTILITY: Kellar Edwards, So., Ashland.

Honorable Mention

PITCHER: Johnathan Wilson, Sr., Eagle Point.

CATCHER: Sean Bartlett, Jr., Crater.

FIRST BASE: Matt Flynn, Sr., Ashland.

INFIELD: Caine Smith, Sr., Crater; Junior Perez, Sr., Churchill.

UTILITY: Kordel Pruett, Sr., North Eugene.

College Softball

Southern Oregon University's coaching staff earned the National Fastpitch Coaches Association's NAIA West Regional Staff of the Year award, the NFCA has announced.

The SOU staff is led by second-year head coach Jessica Pistole, the Cascade Conference Coach of the Year who was assisted by Ernie Adams, Dan Crippen, Taylor Keenen, Chris McKean and Duane Pardue.

The Raiders' staff is now eligible for the NFCA's National Coaching Staff of the Year award, which will be announced June 6.