fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Hogge secures fifth Lon Skinner title

WHITE CITY — Bobby Hogge led the final eight laps to score a $5,000 victory in the Lon Skinner Memorial 100 Sunday night at Southern Oregon Speedway.

Darrell Hughes II led early, surrendered the lead to Jeff Olschowka on lap 38 and regained the lead on lap 61 when problems sidelined Olschowka. Hughes led Hogge from then until mechanical failure ended his race on lap 92. Hogge led two late restarts for his fifth career victory in the big IMCA Modified race. Jake Holland of Reno, Nevada, won $2,500 for second and Cottage Grove Speedway star Eric Ashley was a $1,500 winner for third.

Howard Law won a caution flag-filled 20- lap IMCA Sport Modified main event. The 2015 champion at his home track in Marysville held off two-time Medford champion Dwayne Melvin for the victory in a close battle.

Camden Robustelli started on the front row and led all the way for his second 25-lap Dwarf Car main event win. Point leader Brock Peters made a move into second on lap 14 and would chase Robustelli the rest of the way.


IMCA Modifieds — C Main (20 Laps)-Jeff Olschowka, James Welshonse, Derek Young, Scott Lenz, Tim Cecil. B Main (25 Laps)-Olschowka, Steve Sturdevant, Jesse Bailey, Shawn Natenstedt, Tyler Smith. Last Chance Race (10 Laps)-Albert Gill, Welshonse, Todd Hermosillo. Main Event (100 Laps)-Bobby Hogge IV, Jake Holland, Eric Ashley, Natenstedt, Jesse Williamson, Bailey, Chris Olexiewicz, S. Sturdevant, Derek Young, Jake Mayden.

IMCA Sport Modifieds — Round 1 Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Howard Law, Kalvin Morton, Dwayne Melvin. Round 2 Heat Winners (8 Laps)-David Marble, Jimmy Lipke, Daniel Ray. A Dash (6 Laps)-Law. B Dash (6 Laps)-Shane DeVolder. Main Event (20 laps)-Law, Melvin, Alan Furuta, Rich McCoy, Lipke, Anthony Giuliani, Marble, DeVolder, Justin Foux, Keith Foux.

SODCA Dwarf Cars — Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Josh King, Jerry Houck. A Dash (6 Laps)-Cody Peters. Main Event (20 Laps)-Camden Robustelli, Brock Peters, King, Chad Cardoza, Randy Slater.

Drag Racing

CHAMPION RACEWAY: At White City, Jerry Johnston, Joe Bloomberg, Lyle Hood, Chris Young, Jeremy Reber and Reilly Nickel earned wins at Champion Raceway Sunday.

LARGE TIRE — Winner: Jerry Johnston (’72 Chevy Camaro); Runner-Up: James Love (’70 Chevy Monte Carlo).

SMALL TIRE — Winner: Joe Bloomberg (’65 Ford Mustang); Runner-Up: Dan Clark (’67 Chevy Camaro).

BOX ELECTRONICS — Winner: Lyle Hood (’68 Chevy Camaro); Runner-Up: Billy Lester (Unknown).

NO-BOX ELECTRONICS — Winner: Chris Young (’71 Chevy Chevelle Wagon); Runner-Up: Brian Stewart (’87 Pontiac Firebird).

MOTORCYCLE — Winner: Jeremy Reber (’98 Suzuki GSXR1100); Runner-Up: Russ Boat (’06 Suzuki GSXR1000).

JUNIOR DRAGSTER — Winner: Reilly Nickel (’04 Half Scale Junior); Runner-Up: Evan Alfrey (’00 Mike Bos Junior).