fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Carty is Ashland's lone MWL softball all-star

Sophomore catcher Hailey Carty was Ashland's lone representative on the Midwestern League all-star softball team, released Wednesday.

Carty was a second-team pick for the Grizzlies, who finished the season 2-20 and did not make the Class 5A state playoffs.

Marist junior infielder Lauren Burke was voted the MWL's Player of the Year, Churchill senior Emma Jegtvig the Pitcher of the Year and Churchill's Eric Leyba the Coach of the Year.

The all-star teams are voted on by the Midwestern League coaches.

League-champion Churchill and runner-up Marist both had five first-team selections. Churchill, which will play in the 5A state championship game Saturday, also had four second-team picks.

Eagle Point had four first-team selections and a second-team pick. Earning first-team honors for the Eagles were senior catcher Shaelynn Grady, senior outfielder Kayli Meerten, junior pitcher Megan Ayres and senior utility player Paige Leeper.

Churchill, the No. 3 seed, earned playoff victories over Corvallis, Dallas and Pendleton to advance to the 5A final. Marist, seeded fifth, beat Liberty and Putnam but missed a chance to set up an all MWL final when it lost to Lebanon in Tuesday's semifinal round.

Ashland won its second game of the season over Illinois Valley but lost 13 straight after that before earning its only Midwestern League victory, an 8-7 win over Springfield on April 30.

All-MWL Softball

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Lauren Burke, Jr., Marist.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Emma Jegtvig, Sr., Churchill.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Eric Leyba, Churchill.

First Team

PITCHER: Emma Jegtvig, Sr., Churchill; Megan Ayres, Jr., Eagle Point.

CATCHER: Sophia DeLap, Sr., Churchill; Shaelynn Grady, Sr., Eagle Point.

INFIELD: Lauren Burke, Jr., Marist; Ariel Carlson, Fr., Marist; Bailey Sundberg, So., Churchill; Avery Daniels, Sr., Churchill; Sarah Sheppler, So., Churchill.

OUTFIELD: Kayli Meerten, Sr., Eagle Point; Kristin Behrends, Sr., Marist; Sydney Beck, Sr., Crater; Lauren Marten, Jr., Marist; Noel Balderston, Jr., Marist.

DH/UTILITY: Paige Leeper, Sr., Eagle Point.

Second Team

PITCHER: Bailee Eaton, Jr., Marist; Holley Warner, Jr., Crater.

CATCHER: Katie Dreiling, Fr., Marist; Hailey Carty, So., Ashland.

INFIELD: McKenna Williams, Fr., Marist; Renee Brabham, Jr., Churchill; Abby Cole, Jr., Churchill; Bri Seeley, Sr., North Eugene; Lianna Lyons, Jr., Springfield.

OUTFIELD: Lexi Farmer, So., Churchill; Carrie Dose, So., Churchill; Kylene Briggs, Sr., Eagle Point.

DH/UTILITY: Hannah Adams, Jr., Springfield.

Honorable Mention

PITCHER: Tristin Fisher, Sr., Crater; Emily Gaffney, Jr., Springfield.

INFIELD: Gillian Willis, So., Eagle Point; Kaila Lee, Fr., Crater; Mackenzie Ryerson, So., Crater; Miyah Smith, So., Eagle Point; Sirena Rodriguez, So., Springfield.

OUTFIELD: Emily McCollum, Jr., Crater; Teresa Branson, Jr., Springfield.

College Athletics

Five Southern Oregon University athletes who play spring sports earned Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athlete recognition Wednesday.

SOU track and field athletes Aspen Abbot, Tierra Barrett, Jessie Rozario and Matt Williams were honored, along with SOU softball player Alexa Gonzalez.

Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athletes have junior or senior academic status and have maintained a 3.5 GPA or better. Twenty-one SOU athletes earned the honor during the 2015-16 school year.