fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

School district candidates announced

Three candidates will run unopposed for three seats on the Medford school board.

Tricia Prendergast wants to keep the post she has held since 2001. Two of her fellow board members whose terms are ending, Joe Frodsham and Pat Knudson, aren't seeking re-election so Randi Rigby will run for Frodsham's seat and Robin Stroh will vie for Knudson's spot.

Rigby is assistant director of the Foster Grandparents program at Rogue Valley Manor Community Services and has worked in other volunteer coordinator positions in the past. She has an associate's degree in communications from Rogue Community College.

Stroh is an alcohol and drug counselor for youth at OnTrack Inc. and previously worked in personnel and payroll. She has a bachelor's degree in liberal studies from Oregon State University and has served on the district's budget committee since 2002. She ran unsuccessfully for a board seat in 2003 and narrowly lost to Cynthia Wright.

Prendergast has served on the school board since 2001 and was on the district's budget committee prior to that. She is a program assistant at Asante Child Development Services and a yoga instructor at the YMCA.

Elections for school board races countywide will be May 17. Candidate filing closed last week. These are the candidates who will appear on the ballot.

— Rogue Community College

Candidates file by zone and will serve a four-year term.

Zone 2 , Josephine County: Dean Wendle

Zone 3, northwest Jackson County: Sharon Davidson

Zone 6, southwest Jackson County: Tim Johnson, Wallace Kaufman, David S. Trump

Zone 7, north Medford: Patrick G. Huycke

Southern Oregon Education Service District

Candidates file by zone and will serve a four-year term.

Zone 1, Josephine County: DonnaJean Wendle

Zone 2, Josephine County: Duane G. Petersen

Zone 5, school districts 5, 94 and 4, except precinct 84 and portions of precincts 87: Christine Norton-Cotts

Zone 6, portions of precincts 38, 58, 60 & 64 and precincts 40, 42, 44, 46 and 48 in District 549C: Al Densmore

Zone 7, portions of precincts 38,58 & 60; precincts 54,56,62,70,73,75 & 77 in District 549C and the portion of precinct 90 within the boundaries of District 549C: Louis A. Castillo Jr.

Zone 8, Districts 6, 35 and the part of Three Rivers School District in Jackson County: Paul David Rasmussen

Ashland School District 5

Position 1, four-year term: Ruth Alexander, Howard Miller

Position 3, four-year term: Chuck Keil, Mat Marr

Position 4, four-year term: Sue Graham, Amy Sager Patton, Jim Teece

Position 5, two-year term: Amy W. Amrhein, Michael L. Hays

Butte Falls School District 91

All open positions have four-year terms

Position 1: John R. Huey

Position 2: Chris Zornes

Position 5: Sue Macy

Central Point School District 6

Candidates file by zone but are on the ballot at large. Zone — is south of the Rogue River minus Patrick Elementary School attendance area and zone 2 is north of the Rogue River plus Patrick Elementary School attendance area.

Position 1, zone 1, four-year term: June M. Brock

Position 2, zone 1, four-year term: Richard Dunn

Position 4, zone 2, four-year term: Lenore Carol Gebhard

Eagle Point School District 9

All open positions have four-year terms.

Position 2: Yvonne Fletes, Scott Grissom, Fred Thomas, Jon Vait

Position 3: Jonathan A. Bilden

Position 5: Deborah L. Brown, Theresa Erickson

Phoenix-Talent School District 4

Candidates file by zone and are on the ballot at-large. Zone — is the Talent area, and zone 2 is the Phoenix area. All open positions have four-year terms.

Position 1, zone 2: Bob Kerlinger

Position 3, zone 1: Laura L. Lotspeich

Position 6, zone 2: Nathan Shinn

Position 7, zone 2: Craig L. Prewitt

Pinehurst School District 94

No candidates filed for Position — or 4, which each have four-year terms.

Prospect School District 59

Open positions have four-year terms.

Position 3: Kim A. Marshall, Michele McIntyre

Position 4: Ron Scriven

Position 5: William C. Pace

Rogue River School District 35

All open positions have four-year terms.

Position 2: Mike Kuntz

Position 4: Ed Angeletti, Harry Davis, John B. Myers

Position 5: Dick Handbury