fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Beavers open postseason today against Texas A&M

CORVALLIS — The Oregon State Beavers are back in the postseason, aiming for a return to the College World Series.

The third-seeded Beavers, who won an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament, open the first round with second-seeded Texas A&M on Friday in Fort Worth, Texas.

If the Beavers win, they'll face the victor of Friday's later game between top-seeded TCU and fourth-seeded Wright State.

Oregon State (35-17) did not advance to the tournament last season after winning back-to-back titles in Omaha.

The Beavers are expected to start freshman right-hander Sam Gaviglio, who went 9-1 during the season with a 2.84 ERA. His victories are believed to be the most for an OSU freshman pitcher.

Gaviglio, who is from Ashland, has won his last six decisions.

The Aggies (36-22) are making their third straight trip to the postseason, landing an at-large bid after finishing sixth in the Big 12 Conference.

Texas A&M will start sophomore left-hander Brooks Raley, who is 7-2 with a 3.74 ERA.

"Opening with Oregon State is going to be a great challenge," Aggies coach Rob Childress said. "They won back-to-back national championships and they have a lot of tradition up there. There will be some familiar faces in the lineup on both sides (from 2007), and it ought to be a great game. We're looking forward to it."

Texas A&M is 4-2 all-time over the Beavers, most recently splitting a pair of games at College Station in 2007.

The Aggies are making their 25th appearance in the NCAA tournament.

Oregon's State's regional berth is its 10th overall, and fourth in the last five years.

The host Horned Frogs (36-16), who won the regular season Mountain West title, are making their sixth consecutive trip to the tournament.

The Wright State Raiders, from Dayton, Ohio, finished the regular season 33-28 and won the Horizon League's automatic berth. In 2006, the Raiders lost to Hawaii and Oregon State in the Corvallis regional.

Each four-team regional is double-elimination, with the 16 winners advancing to the super regionals beginning June 5. The winners of the eight super regionals advance to the College World Series, which starts June 13 at Rosenblatt Stadium.