fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Raiders finish with five champs at Pacific Open

FOREST GROVE — Five different wrestlers earned championships for No. 1 Southern Oregon University Sunday at the Mike Clock Open at Pacific University.

Top-ranked Mitchell Lofstedt led the way for the Raiders, pinning his first three opponents and winning the 125-pound weight class.

Lofstedt opened the day by pinning Austin Hudson of Yakima Valley C.C. in 1:18, and he followed that up with a pin of Brandon Leach in 1:14. He then pinned Chris Ornelas in 2:16 and earned the title with a 3-2 decision over Sean Silva from Embry-Riddle in the championship round.

Luis Baltazar took the title in the 133 bracket. He pinned Pacific's Eric Harder in 3:49 in the opening round and defeated Drew Dacey by technical fall, 21-6. Baltazar beat San Francisco State's Julian Perez by 3-2 decision in the semifinal and earned the championship with a pin of unattached wrestler Kenny Sanders in 3:30.

Southern Oregon picked up a dual championship in the 149 bracket, with Raiders Kyle Wirkuty and fifth-ranked Jimmy Eggemeyer sharing the title. Wirkuty pinned Chris Pena in 53 seconds and defeated Kolton Palmer by technical fall, 18-2, before finishing with an injury default victory over Eric Luna.

Eggemeyer defeated Kyle Lew from San Francisco State by a 4-2 decision, beat Cole Rice by 5-2 decision and finished with a 10-4 victory over Beau Roberts.

Fourth-ranked Austin Vanderford won the championship in the 184 bracket. He opened with a pin of Embry-Riddle's Jonathan Castellow in 2:51, then earned a 11-2 major decision over Pacific's Caleb Malycheaski and finally captured the title by pinning Austin Morehead in 5:45.

The Raiders finished with four other placers in the event. Brian Lemmon finished fourth in the 174 bracket and Ethan Hinton placed fourth in the 184. Joe Hutchison took sixth in the 133 and Cody Jones took sixth in the 165.