fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Beavers grab second in Ames

AMES, Iowa — The 16th-ranked Oregon State wrestling team beat Iowa State 27-12 before dropping a 22-14 decision to No. 5 Iowa at Hilton Coliseum on Sunday.

Iowa's victory over the Beavers sent the Hawkeyes to the National Duals Final Four next Sunday. The Beavers, meanwhile, finished second at the regional hosted by the Cyclones. Each of the team's finished as they were seeded: No. 1 Iowa defeated both No. 4 Virginia Tech and No. 2 OSU. Virginia Tech defeated No. 5 Northern Iowa and No. 3 Iowa State downed No. 6 Wisconsin before falling to the Beavers.

Individually, Oregon State's effort was highlighted by RJ Pena, Scott Sakaguchi and Clayton Jack. Pena won by pin in his first bout, coming in 1:58 against Iowa State's Michael Moreno. It was the 19th fall of Pena's season, tying him with Marty Ryan (1978) for the most in a single season by a sophomore at Oregon State.

Pena, at 157, defeated Iowa's Derek St. John via major decision in his second bout to improve to 26-9 this season.

Sakaguchi reached the 30 win plateau for the first time in his OSU career. He was an 8-1 winner over Iowa State's Joe Cozart and an 8-3 winner over Iowa's Mike Kelly to pick up his 30th and 31st wins of the season. He has won a career-high 10 consecutive bouts and 57 career wins.

Jack, meanwhile, moved into sole possession of 12th place in Oregon State career history by winning his 113th and 114th bouts. He defeated Iowa State's Matt Gibson, 9-1, in his first competition Sunday. Jack ended his day by defeating Iowa's Bobby Telford, 5-3.

Jack became the winningest OSU wrestler this century, surpassing Eric Jorgensen, who ended his career in 2001.

Mike Mangrum joined Jack (32) and Sakaguchi (31) as OSU wrestlers with 31 or more wins this season. He defeated ISU's R.J. Hallman, 20-3, but lost to Iowa's Montell Marion in overtime, 6-4.

Mangrum's loss snapped his win streak at 13 and put him at 31-3 this season.