fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Crater claims BorderClash team crown

BEAVERTON — The Crater boys cross country team won the 18th Nike BorderClash Sunday.

The competition pits the top teams and individuals from the Oregon and Washington state high school meets.

Crater, led by Andy Monroe's fourth-place finish, scored 47 points and beat out runner-up North Central of Washington by 20 points. The next-best Oregon school, Sunset, was fifth with 137 points. Summit of Bend was next with 147.

Monroe covered the 5,000-meter course in 15 minutes, 32 seconds. Other Comet placers were Derek Tripp (16:06), Griffin Hokanson (16:26), Jantz Tostenson (16:34) and Erik Olsen (16:45).

Washington had the top three placers and won the overall title with 19 points to Oregon's 38.

James Mwaura, running unattached, won in 15:25.

Women's Basketball

REEVES HONORED: Southern Oregon senior guard Majerle Reeves was voted the Cascade Conference's women's basketball player of the week Monday after lighting up the Midland Empire Classic and leading the second-ranked Raiders to a pair of wins in Klamath Falls.

Reeves, a product of Longview, Washington, shot 5-for-9 from 3-point range with 16 points Friday in SOU's 77-63 defeat of Simpson. In Saturday's 86-45 win against Cal Maritime, she scored a career-high 20 points and contributed to SOU's school-record total of 16 3-pointers with a 6-for-10 effort.

Through four games, Reeves is averaging 13.3 points off the bench and shooting 48.5 percent (16-for-33) from beyond the arc.

The Raiders (3-1 overall) are off until Dec. 1, when they'll travel to Angwin, Calif., to take on Pacific Union.

College Football

OLSON RECOGNIZED: Former Cascade Christian standout Dante Olson received the Hauck Family Special Teams Player of the Year award at the University of Montana's awards banquet Sunday.

Olson, a 6-foot-3, 223-pound redshirt freshman linebacker, was Montana's 10th-leading tackler with 29, including two tackles-for-loss and a sack, in his first year of action. In 2015, he was named the Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year.