fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Browning, Jackson earn Pac-12 honors

SAN FRANCISCO — Washington quarterback Jake Browning and Southern California's Adoree Jackson have been named the Pac-12's offensive and defensive players of the year.

Colorado's Mike MacIntyre was named coach of the year, USC's Sam Darnold the offensive freshman and Washington's Taylor Rapp the defensive freshman in voting announced on Tuesday.

Browning threw for 3,162 yards and a school-record 40 touchdowns with seven interceptions for the fourth-ranked Huskies.

The sophomore from Folsom, California, completed 214 passes in 329 attempts. He ranks fourth in the FBS in passing efficiency (181.6) and 17th in completion percentage (.650).

Browning was named Pac-12 player of the week and garnered many nationally weekly honors for his performance against Oregon on Oct. 8.

In that game, he set the UW record with six touchdown passes, breaking the record of five, which he tied earlier in the season against Idaho. He was 22 of 28 for 304 yards with no interceptions, and rushed for two touchdowns, giving him the school record for total touchdowns in a game, with eight.

Jackson, a junior, had 51 tackles and four interceptions on defense and scored four touchdowns on special teams.

Jackson, Belleville, Illinois, has been a dynamic three-way performer for the Trojans.

He’s one of three finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, honoring the nation’s top defensive back. He’s also one of four finalists for the Paul Hornung Award, honoring the nation’s most versatile player.

He has 19 punt returns for 302 yards (15.9 average) and two touchdowns, and 22 kick returns for 671 yards (30.5) and two touchdowns.

MacIntyre led the ninth-ranked Buffaloes to a 10-2 overall record and the Pac-12 South title a year after they went 4-9 and won one Pac-12 game last season.

Oregon State and Oregon each had a second-team offensive player.

For Oregon State, senior tackle Sean Harlow was selected.

Harlow sat out the first three games to rest an ankle injury suffered during the 2015 season.

His presence at left tackle, along with some additional personnel shuffling on the offensive line, had a strong impact on the offense.

The Beavers became more productive in the run game with Harlow in the lineup. They rushed for 474 yards against California, 197 against Utah, 177 at Washington, 171 against Washington State, 210 against Arizona and 310 against Oregon.

OSU had four players receive honorable mention: senior cornerback Treston Decoud, sophomore running back Ryan Nall, redshirt freshman cornerback Xavier Crawford and freshman guard Gus Lavaka.

Oregon’s Brown, a senior tight end, was third on the team for receiving with 33 catches for 426 yards and five touchdowns. He had a career-high 129 receiving yards (on seven receptions) and two touchdowns against Arizona State.

Oregon’s honorable mention players were freshman linebacker Troy Dye, junior running back Royce Freeman, freshman offensive lineman Jake Hanson, senior tight end Johnny Mundt, junior return specialist Charles Nelson, freshman offensive lineman Calvin Throckmorton and senior kicker Matt Wogan.

Washington quarterback Jake Browning (3) has been chosen the Pac-12's offensive player of the year. TED S. WARREN/THE ASSOCIATED PRESS