fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

OSU unanimous pick to claim Pac-12 title

The Oregon State baseball team received 10 out of a possible 10 first-place votes by the Pac-12 coaches to win the 2018 conference title.

The Beavers, ranked second nationally by all six major preseason polls, earned the maximum 100 points — first place votes equaling 10 points, second place earning nine, and so on. Stanford is second with 88 points, and UCLA third at 84.

Arizona (68 points) occupies fourth, followed by California (56), Oregon (51), Washington (50), Arizona State (41), USC (31), Washington State (19) and Utah (16).

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own teams.

It is the second consecutive season the coaches have chosen the Beavers to take the crown. Oregon State received eight first-place votes and 97 of 100 possible points in 2017.

The Beavers are the conference’s defending champions.

Another honor for Mulholland

Oregon State sophomore left-handed pitcher Jake Mulholland is one of 52 players on the preseason watch list for the Stopper of the Year Award, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced

The award is given annually to the top relief pitcher at the NCAA Division I level.

Mulholland finished the 2017 season with a 7-1 record and 1.20 ERA. That ranks as the fourth-best single-season mark in school history among pitchers with 40 or more innings.

The Snohomish, Washington native finished his freshman campaign with 52⅓ innings of work, allowing just 34 hits and 12 walks while striking out 44. Opponents batted .183 against him.