fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

SOU places five on all-Frontier squad

ASHLAND — Southern Oregon sophomore receiver Bryce Goggin was selected to the All-Frontier Conference first team and four more Raiders made the second team, the FC office announced Tuesday.

Senior defensive tackle Tre Holmes of Medford became a two-time honoree and was joined on the defensive second team by junior cornerback Stokes Botelho.

Senior center Tyler Coates was selected to the offensive second team and sophomore kick returner Shane McLaughlin to the specialists second team.

Jacob Tambellini, a redshirt-freshman from Rogue River, was SOU’s Champions of Character honoree.

The Raiders finished up last week at 3-7. Despite their offensive struggles, Goggin was a consistent force with 51 receptions, eight touchdowns and 802 receiving yards over nine games — an average of 89.1 per game that ranked second in the Frontier and 20th in the NAIA. He posted four 100-yard games and three in a row at one point, missing four straight by a single yard. Over the Raiders’ last four games, he accounted for four of their six TDs.

Coates was the veteran anchor of an inexperienced offensive line. He helped limit opponents to 28 sacks.

Despite SOU’s five-game skid to end the season, the defense did some of its best work down the stretch as the Raiders lost their last three by a total of nine points. They gave up an average of 17 in those games and held three consecutive opponents to 20 or fewer points for just the second time since joining the Frontier.

Holmes contributed with 27 tackles, three tackles for losses and two sacks while attracting extra attention from offensive lines, and the former North Medford High standout finished his career with 14 1/2 sacks.

Botelho ranked second in the conference and 14th in the NAIA with five interceptions, and his 52 tackles were the second-most on the team. Five of them went for losses.

McLaughlin was the Frontier’s second-leading kick returner with an average of 21.8 yards on 28 tries. His best was a 95-yard TD return on Oct. 2 against Eastern Oregon, matching the seventh-longest in team history.

Holmes and McLaughlin were also named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District team.

Western Montana quarterback Jon Jund was named the Frontier’s offensive player of the year, Eastern Oregon linemen Sage DeLong and Chase Van Wyck were co-defensive players of the year, and Rocky Mountain (Mont.)’s Chris Stutzriem was the coach of the year.