$90 fine for cell phone use while driving in Oregon
SALEM â" Oregon lawmakers have given final approval to bill to ban use of hand-held cell phones while operating a motor vehicle.
The measure, which was approved by the House today, now goes to Gov. Ted Kulongoski for his expected signature.
The new law will impose a maximum $90 fine on drivers caught texting or talking on a hand-held cell phone. It does not apply to drivers using a cell phone equipped with a handsfree device.
Supporters of the ban say drivers who become distracted by using hand-held cell phones pose a traffic safety hazard to themselves and others. Oregon will become the sixth state with such a ban.
The measure is House Bill 2377.