fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Bartels wins A main in late models

WHITE CITY — Nick Bartels captured the checkered flag in the feature race of the 2009 DIRTcar Northwest I-5 Late Model Tour championship at Southern Oregon Speedway Friday.

Bartels raced at the front of the pack throughout but got pressure from Jim Whisler and Steve Moore. Whisler held second place by Lap 12 and was right on Bartel's back until Moore, who started 15th, moved into second place on the 18th lap.

Whisler regained second on Lap 28, and threatened to take the lead but couldn't overtake Bartels.

Whisler finished second and Moore third.

In the B main, Richard Papenhausen sailed smoothly through the finish line for the win. Multiple yellow flags flew throughout the race caused by spinouts and mechanical difficulties. Mike Miller finished second and Craig Hanson was third.

Randy Neal won the C main after leading nearly the entire event. John Campos took first from Neal in the third turn of the last lap, but Neal regained it right at the finish line. Bruce Hipple was third.

Tonight marks the last race night of the speedway season.


A MAIN — 1, Nick Bartels; 2, Jim Whisler; 3, Steve Moore; 4, Jimmy Schram.

B MAIN — 1, Richard Papenhausen; 2, Mike Miller; 3, Craig Hanson; 4, Joey Tanner.

C MAIN — 1, Randy Neal; 2, John Campos; 3, Bruce Hipple; 4, Shaun Mayea.

TROPHY DASH — 1, Nick Bartels; 2, Jeremy Shank; 3, Jimmy Schram; 4, Jim Whisler.

HEAT 1 — 1, Trent Elliot; 2, Dane Smith; 3, Rob Mayea; 4, Richard Papenhousen.

HEAT 2 — 1, Jim Whisler; 2, Roger Lorenzini; 3, Jason Wines; 4, Mike Miller.

HEAT 3 — 1, Matt Micheli; 2, Greg Brooks; 3, Lisa Stroup; 4, Rob Campos.

HEAT 4 — 1, Jeremy Shank; 2, Mark Carrell; 3, Justin Simpson; 4, Paul Gugliemoni.

HEAT 5 — 1, Nick Bartels; 2, Jimmy Schram; 3, Steve Moore; 4, Craig Hanson.


HEAT 1 — 1, Brian Johnsen; 2, Terry Hadley; 3, Joe Guider; 4, Rick Rapp.

Drag Racing

At White City, in the first rounds of qualifying at Champion Raceway's NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event, Brian Hough of Junction City set the pace in top alcohol funny Car (TAFC), and Justin Davis, Murrieta, Calif., was the best qualifier in top alcohol dragster (TAD).

Hough, who is the reigning division TAFC champion, laid down a 5.747—second, 248.48-mph pass to take the top spot. He is just ahead of Clint Thompson of Klamath Falls, who ran 5.817 seconds at 246.30 mph.

The two racers are vying for points this weekend that will put them ahead of current division TAFC points leader Ken Webster, who is not here. Hough will square off against No. 6 qualifier Brian Thiel, of Pleasant Grove, Calif., in the opening round of eliminations today.

In TAD, Davis blasted a 5.383-second, 263.10-mph run to put him atop the field. It was more than enough to cover No. 2 qualifier Chris Demke of Sunland, Calif., who ran 5.413 seconds at 262.85 mph. Davis will take on Saugus, Calif., resident Johnny Ahten in the first round of eliminations.

Rob Harrison, of North Vancouver, B.C., led the comp eliminator contingent, while Jim Ishwood, of Sumas, Wash., is No. 1 in super stock. Stock eliminator racer Hal Sorensen heads up his class, Curt Geise, Auburn, Wash., leads in top sportsman and Todd Miller, Fairview, Calif., is No. 1 in top dragster. Seattle's Miles Hauer rode his '04 Suzuki to the top of the sportsman motorcycle class.

Racing continues today. Gates open at 8 a.m., and racing starts at 9. Eliminations for all categories begins at 1.

For more results, visit www.championraceway.com.