fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Schlecht, Pilots advance at state

EUGENE — Ethan Schlecht pitched a one-hitter and Brent Hegdahl hit a two-run home run as the Ashland Pilots topped Central Point, 9-3, in a loser-out contest to advance to today's final four at the American Legion A state tournament at Swede Johnson Stadium on Saturday.

The Pilots (28-12) face North Coos in another loser-out game at noon today.

Schlecht, who went 2-for-3 with two runs and an RBI, owned a no-hitter through 62/3 innings. The Comets' only hit was a big one — Bryce Crawford launched a three-run home run with two outs in the seventh inning.

Schlecht finished with three strikeouts and six walks.

Ashland's Brady Thomas was 2-for-4 with an RBI, Taylor Humphrey went 1-for-2 with two runs and an RBI and Hegdahl added three runs to go along with his third-inning homer.

The Comets finished their season with a 25-13 overall record.

Central Point 000 000 3 — 3 1 4

Ashland 003 402 x — 9 9 0

Preston, Williams (4), Painter (4) and Macuk; Schlecht and Adams. W — Schlecht. L — Preston. 2B — A: Adams. HR — C: Crawford; A: Hegdahl.

Auto Racing

RICHEY WINS LATE MODELS — At White City, Jeremy Richey captured the checkered flag in the late model A main event Saturday at Southern Oregon Speedway.

Richey also set the quick time of 13.456 seconds, while Trevor Glaser won the trophy dash.

John David Duffie took top honors in pro stocks, sweeping the trophy dash and his heat race.

The street stock race was won by Shane Everson, with Scott Flowers in second and Anthony Bartell in third.

In mini stocks, John Derby also had swept.

The speedway's next racing event is next Saturday. It's the points championship night for sprint cars, which will be making their final appearance.


A MAIN — 1, John Derby; 2, Bob Burkett; 3, Steve Goetz; 4, Josh Bratton.

TROPHY DASH — John Derby.

HEAT 1 — 1, John Derby; 2, David Steele; 3, Curt Ballard; 4, Steve Goetz.

HEAT 2 — 1, Philip Scott; 2, Dan Borror; 3, Bob Burkett; 4, Josh Bratton.


TROPHY DASH — John David Duffie.

HEAT 1 — 1, Dave Everson; 2, Frank Word III; 3, Jack Bowers; 4, Ken Irving.

HEAT 2 — 1, John David Duffie; 2, Mike Medel; 3, Keith Scott; 4, Billy Geyer.


TROPHY DASH — Trevor Glaser.

HEAT 1 — 1, Trevor Glaser; 2, Andy Freeman; 3, Dane Smith; 4, Jeremy Richey.

HEAT 2 — 1, Paul Guglimoni; 2, Chris Salyer; 3, Bud Wahlberg; 4, Darrin Morris.


A MAIN — 1, Shane Everson; 2, Scott Flowers; 3, Anthony Bartell; 4, Jordan Brock.

TROPHY DASH — Shane Everson.

HEAT 1 — 1, Shane Everson; 2, Adam Thomas; 3, Jordan Brock; 4, Neal Coaty.