fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Oklahoma squad wins Legion World Series title

SPOKANE, Wash. — Midwest City, Okla., defeated Eden Prairie, Minn., twice Tuesday to win the 2010 American Legion World Series.

Midwest City defeated Eden Prairie 11-6 earlier, then pounded the Minnesota squad 10-1 to capture the title at Avista Stadium.

Oregon and Northwest chamipon Roseburg made it into the final four but was eliminated Monday night by Eden Prairie, 6-2. It was the second time the Minnesota club down Doc Stewart's (35-15).

In the first round, Eden Prairie beat Roseburg, 13-6. Doc Stewart's regrouped to defeat Chesapeake, Va., 11-10, and Moline, Ill., 9-7, before being ousted.

In the Monday loss, Roseburg's Brandon Jackson scored the 10,000th run in World Series history, dating to 1926, and the game was stopped briefly to recognize the accomplishment.

Jackson doubled in the second inning and was plated by Johnny Farrington's single. Both players signed the ball, and it will be sent to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, N.Y.