fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Richey wins points title in late models

WHITE CITY — Jeremy Richey won the late model points title on the final night of racing Sunday at the Southern Oregon Speedway.

In late model racing, Mark Carrell won Sunday's race, Greg Walters took the Crate late model race and Skipper Klimcheck the super 4 modifieds.


A MAIN — 1, Skipper Klimcheck; 2, Terry Hadley; 3, John Barger; 4, Joe Guider.

TROPHY DASH — Terry Hadley

HEAT 1 — 1, Dan King; 2, John Barger; 3, Terry Hadley; 4, Brian Johnsen.

HEAT 2 — 1, Skipper Klimcheck; 2, Joe Guider; 3, Dan Prewitt; 4, Krista Hadley.


A MAIN — 1, Greg Walters; 2, Jason Wines; 3, Steve Moore; 4, Joey Tanner.

TROPHY DASH — Clay Daly.


A MAIN — 1, Mark Carrell; 2, Roby Mayea; 3, Jeremy Shank; 4, Clay Daly.

B MAIN — 1, Jeremy Shank; 2, Chris Salyer; 3, Mark Carrell; 4, Bud Wahlberg.

C MAIN — 1, Jeremy Shank; 2, Bud Wahlberg; 3, Blaine Taylor; 4, John David Duffie.

Cowie, Hough triumph

Shawn Cowie, of Delta, B.C., and Brian Hough, of Junction City, took home the wins in top alcohol dragster and top alcohol funny car, respectively, in the Northwest Championships at Champion Raceway and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Sunday.

It was the final race of the North West Division.

Cowie faced off against Joey Severance, of Woodburn, and posted a winning run of 5.463 seconds, 260.46 mph. Severance drove to a 5.484-second, 259.76-mph lap for his runner-up finish.

Severance defeated Mike Austin of Medford in the semifinals.

Hough worked his way through the field and ran 5.851 seconds at 247.93 mph in the semifinals over Shane Westerfield, of Lake Forest, Calif., who clocked in at 5.949 seconds, 238.85 mph.

Other racers visiting the winner's circle were Aaron Strong, Auburn, Wash., in comp eliminator; Dallas Glenn, Covington, Wash., in super stock; Chuck Hawk Jr, Tucson, Ariz., in super comp; Joe Sorensen, Woodburn, in stock eliminator; Mike Ferderer, Buckley, Wash., in super gas; and Bill Gee, Silverton, in super street.

In the division's top sportsman class, it was Wayne Newman, Lancaster, Calif., taking the win while Gene Heaton, Vancover, Wash., won in top dragster.