fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

La Grande stays hot at Anhorn

CENTRAL POINT — The Central Point Comets took their first loss in the double-elimination American Legion A state tournament on Sunday, falling to the La Grande Subway A's 6-4 at Anhorn Field.

La Grande remains the only undefeated team at 3-0 in the tourney, which has been whittled down to four teams: the Comets, Subway A's, Grants Pass Diggers and Salem Senators.

Action resumes today when Central Point takes on Salem at noon.

Tanner Rogers' single drove in Jordan Rogers and gave La Grande the go-ahead run in the top of the seventh inning, and Buck Arnoldus' RBI double gave the Subway A's some insurance.

Central Point (32-20) threatened in the bottom of the inning — Anthony Martin led off with a single and pinch-hitter Ty Fox drew a walk before Taylor Pardee's sacrifice bunt was caught by La Grande relief pitcher Austin Woodward, who converted a double play. The Comets then grounded out to Woodward, ending the game.

Rogers finished 2-for-4 with a run scored and an RBI. For Central Point, Sebastian Reynolds was 3-for-4 with two runs, Martin 3-for-3 with a run and Pardee 2-for-4.

Earlier in the day, Salem beat the North Eugene Highlanders 5-3 in nine innings.

La Grande 000 130 2 — 6 9 0

Central Point 201 010 0 — 4 11 4

Fullerton, White (6), Woodward (7) and Arnoldus; Fox, Painter (7) and Aplin. W — White. L — Painter. 2B — LG: Woodward, Rogers; C: Martin. 3B — LG: Miller.

GRANTS PASS 7, NORTH JACKSON 3 — At Central Point, the North Jackson Eagles (23-19) were bounced from the double-elimination American Legion A state tournament at Anhorn Field.

With the game tied heading into the bottom of the fifth inning, the Diggers posted four runs on three hits and one North Jackson error to take a commanding lead.

Josh Robinson was 2-for-3 with one run scored and one RBI and Nathaniel Wise finished 2-for-3 with two RBIs for Grants Pass.

North Jackson 000 210 0 — 3 5 2

Grants Pass 010 240 x — 7 7 2

Wilson, Walls (5) and Morgan; Mathews, Gutierrez (5), Fulton (7) and Leenknecht. W — Mathews. L — Wilson.